Article to understand algorithms in artificial intelligence

Artificial intelligence has a troika: data, algorithms, and computing power. This article focuses on algorithm-related knowledge.

This article will introduce the concept of algorithm in artificial intelligence, 4 characteristics of algorithm, 6 general methods. And 3 points to note when choosing an algorithm.

 

What is an algorithm?

Simply put, the algorithm is:The means to solve the problem, and is a means of mass solving the problem.

A recipe is an "algorithm", as long as you follow the recipe method, you can make the corresponding dish.

The recipe is an algorithm

Algorithms in artificial intelligence are mainly used to train models.

机器 学习 There are 7 steps, and the third step is to choose the appropriate algorithm model. The final predictable model is obtained through training.

The third step of machine learning is to choose the appropriate algorithm model

4 basic characteristics of the algorithm

4 basic characteristics of the algorithm

The algorithm has the following four characteristics:

  1. feasibility
  2. Certainty
  3. Poor
  4. Have enough intelligence

For a detailed description of these 4 characteristics, please see the "Basic concepts of the algorithm"

 

6 basic methods of algorithms

Computer algorithms and human computing are different, and there are roughly six different ideas:

  1. Enumeration
  2. Induction
  3. Recursion
  4. Recursive
  5. Halving recursion
  6. Backtracking

For more details, check out the "Basic concepts of the algorithm"

 

3 Tips when choosing an algorithm

3 tips for selection algorithm

Easyai public number

  1. Different algorithms may be used to solve different problems, and the same algorithm may be used.No algorithm is omnipotent, but the scope of application is different.
  2. The algorithm has no advanced and low level points.The quick and cheap solution is the purpose, blindly pursue complex algorithms (for example: deep learning), equivalent to "using a cannon to fight mosquitoes"
  3. Sometimes there are multiple algorithms that can solve the same problem, and it is the goal to solve the problem with the lowest cost and the shortest time.It is important to choose the right algorithm for your environment.

 

Baidu Encyclopedia + Wikipedia

Baidu Encyclopedia version

The algorithm refers to the accurate and complete description of the solution, and is a series of clear instructions to solve the problem. The algorithm represents a systematic way to describe the problem-solving strategy. That is to say, it is possible to obtain the required output in a limited time for a certain specification input.

If an algorithm is flawed or not suitable for a problem, executing this algorithm will not solve the problem. Different algorithms may accomplish the same task with different time, space or efficiency. The pros and cons of an algorithm can be measured by space complexity and time complexity. The instructions in the algorithm describe a calculation that, when run, starts with an initial state and (possibly empty) initial input, passes through a series of finite and clearly defined states, and eventually produces an output and stops at a final state.

see details

 

Wikipedia version

In mathematics and computer science, algorithms are a clear specification of how to solve a class of problems. The algorithm can perform calculations, data processing, and automatic reasoning tasks.

As an efficient method, algorithms can be expressed in limited space and time, as well as in well-defined formal languages ​​for computational functions. Starting from the initial state and the initial input, the instruction describes a calculation that, when executed, ultimately produces an "output" and a final end state through a finite number of well-defined continuous states.

The concept of algorithms has existed for centuries. Greek mathematicians use algorithms in the sieves such as Eratosthenes to find prime numbers and use the Euclidean algorithm to find the greatest common divisor of two numbers. The word itself comes from the 9 century mathematician MuḥammadibnMūsāal-Khwārizmī, the Latinized Algoritmi. Partial formalization of the concept of modern algorithms began with an attempt to solve the Entscheidungsproblem (decision problem) proposed by David Hilbert in 1928. Subsequent formalization is defined as an attempt to define “effective computability” or “effective method”. These formalizations include the Gödel-Herbrand-Kleene recursive function for 1930 years, 1934 years and 1935 years, the lambda calculus for Alonzo Church for 1936 years, the Formula 1936 for Emil Post for 1, and the Alan Turing for 1936-37 and 1939. Turing machine.

see details

 

Easyai public number

什么是算法?

简单说,算法就是:解决问题的手段,并且是批量化解决问题的手段。

比如你想要木头桌子,那么制造桌子的工厂就是“一套算法”。提供(输入)木头,就会得到(输出)桌子。

 

算法
算法就是批量化的解决方案

关于算法,有3点需要注意:

  1. 解决不同的问题可能会用到不同的算法,也可能用相同的算法。没有某种算法是万能的,只是适用的范围不同而已。
  2. 算法没有高级和低级之分,快速便宜的解决问题才是目的,一味追求复杂的算法(例如:深度学习),相当于“用大炮打蚊子”
  3. 有时候有多种算法可以解决同一个问题,用最低的成本和最短的时间解决问题才是目的。根据不同环境选择合适的算法很重要。

 

百度百科+维基百科

百度百科版本

算法是指解题方案的准确而完整的描述,是一系列解决问题的清晰指令,算法代表着用系统的方法描述解决问题的策略机制。也就是说,能够对一定规范的输入,在有限时间内获得所要求的输出。

如果一个算法有缺陷,或不适合于某个问题,执行这个算法将不会解决这个问题。不同的算法可能用不同的时间、空间或效率来完成同样的任务。一个算法的优劣可以用空间复杂度与时间复杂度来衡量。 算法中的指令描述的是一个计算,当其运行时能从一个初始状态和(可能为空的)初始输入开始,经过一系列有限而清晰定义的状态,最终产生输出并停止于一个终态。

查看详情

 

维基百科版本

在数学和计算机科学中,算法是如何解决一类问题的明确规范。算法可以执行计算,数据处理和自动推理任务。

作为一种有效的方法,算法可以在有限的空间和时间内以及用于计算函数的明确定义的形式语言中表达。从初始状态和初始输入开始,指令描述了一种计算,当执行时,通过有限个明确定义的连续状态,最终产生“输出”和终止于最终结束状态。

算法的概念已经存在了几个世纪。希腊数学家在例如Eratosthenes的筛子中使用算法来寻找素数,并使用Euclidean算法来找到两个数的最大公约数。算法这个词本身来自9世纪的数学家MuḥammadibnMūsāal-Khwārizmī,拉丁化的Algoritmi。对于现代算法概念的部分形式化始于试图解决大卫希尔伯特于1928年提出的Entscheidungsproblem(决策问题)。后来的形式化被定义为试图定义“有效可计算性”或“有效方法” 。这些形式化包括1930年,1934年和1935年的Gödel-Herbrand-Kleene递归函数,1936年的Alonzo Church的lambda演算,1936年的Emil Post的Formulation 1,以及1936-37和1939年的Alan Turing的图灵机。

查看详情

 

实践类文章(1)
easyai公众号