I understand meta-learning in a text

Meta-learning is a relatively new direction in the field of artificial intelligence and is considered to be the key to realizing general artificial intelligence.

Why is he so important? How to quickly and easily understand the essence of meta-learning? This article will introduce you to the meta-learning in detail.

 

Why is meta-learning important?

The core of meta-learning isself-study ability. Then why do you need self-learning ability?

Machine learning: Simple machine learning is difficult to deal with complex problems;

Deep learning: Deep learning is better than machine learning in terms of complex problems, but it is impossible to deal with interactive problems or continuous problems, intelligently handling one-to-one mapping problems;

Reinforcement: Rely on massive training and require precise rewards. The cost is higher and more complicated.

Meta-learning: Self-learning ability to make full use of past experience to guide future tasks. Is considered to be realizedUniversal artificial intelligencekey.

 

What is meta-learning?

The idea of ​​meta-learning is to learn the process of learning (training).

Meta-learning has several implementation methods, but the two methods of "learning the learning process" mentioned in this article are similar to the methods described above. In our training process, specifically, you can learn two things:

Meta-learning mainly learns 2 points: neural network initial parameters, optimizer parameters

  1. The initial parameters of the neural network (blue in the figure);
  2. The parameters of the optimizer (pink ★).

I will introduce the combination of these two points, but each of the points here is also very interesting, and can be simplified, accelerated and some good theoretical results. Now, we have two parts to train:

  1. Using the term "model (M)" to refer to our previous neural network, we can now also understand it as a low-level network. Sometimes people also use "optimizee" or "learner" (learNer)" to call it. The weight of the model is indicated by ■ in the figure.
  2. Use "optimizer (O)" or "meta learner" to refer to the advanced model used to update the weight of the low-level network (that is, the above model). The weight of the optimizer is indicated by ★ in the figure.

see details

 

Wikipedia

Wikipedia version

Meta-learning was originally described by Donald B. Maudsley (1979) as "the process by which learners realize and increasingly control the perception, inquiry, learning, and growth habits they have internalized." Maudsely sets the conceptual basis of his theory to be synthesized under the headings of Hypothesis, Structure, Transformation Process and Promotion. Five principles are elaborated to promote meta-learning. The learner must:

  1. There is a theory, no matter how primitive;
  2. Working in a safe supportive social and physical environment;
  3. Discover its rules and assumptions;
  4. Reconnect with the real information in the environment;
  5. Reorganize yourself by changing its rules/hypotheses.

John Biggs (1985) later used the concept of meta-learning to describe the state of "knowing and controlling your own learning." You can define meta-learning as the understanding and understanding of the phenomenon of learning itself, not the subject knowledge. This definition implies the learner's perception of the learning environment, including what the expectations of the discipline are, and, more simply, the requirements for a particular learning task.

In this context, meta-learning depends on the learner's learning concept, epistemological beliefs, learning process and academic skills, and is summarized here as a learning method. A student with a high level of meta-learning can assess the effectiveness of her/his learning methods and manage them according to the requirements of the learning task. Conversely, students with low meta-learning will not be able to reflect on the nature of her/his learning methods or learning task sets. Therefore, when learning becomes more difficult and demanding, he/she will not be able to adapt successfully.

see details

 

 

Easyai public number

一文看懂元学习

元学习是人工智能领域里一个较新的方向,被认为是实现通用人工智能的关键。

为什么他如此重要?如何快速简单的理解元学习的精髓?本文将详细给大家介绍一下元学习。

 

为什幺元学习很重要?

元学习的核心是具备自学能力。那为什么需要自学能力?

机器学习:简单的机器学习很难处理复杂问题;

深度学习:深度学习相比机器学习来说,在复杂问题上的效果更好,但是面对互相影响的问题或者连续问题时就无从下手了,智能处理一对一的映射问题;

强化学习:依赖海量的训练,并且需要精准的奖励。成本较高且比较复杂。

元学习:具备自学能力,能够充分利用过去的经验来指导未来的任务。被认为是实现通用人工智能的关键。

 

什么是元学习?

元学习的思想是学习“学习(训练)”过程。

元学习有好几种实现方法,不过本文谈到的两种“学习‘学习’过程”的方法和上文介绍的方式很类似。 在我们的训练过程中,具体而言,可以学习到两点:

元学习主要学习2点:神经网络初始参数、优化器参数

  1. 神经网络的初始参数(图中的蓝色■);
  2. 优化器的参数(粉色的★)。

我会介绍将这两点结合的情况,不过这里的每一点本身也非常有趣,而且可获得到简化、加速以及一些不错的理论结果。 现在,我们有两个部分需要训练:

  1. 用“模型(M)”这个词来指代我们之前的神经网络,现在也可以将其理解为一个低级网络。有时,人们也会用“优化对象(optimizee)”或者“学习器(learner)”来称呼它。该模型的权重在图中用 ■ 表示。
  2. 用“优化器(O)”或者“元学习器”来指代用于更新低级网络(即上述模型)权重的高级模型。优化器的权重在图中用 ★ 表示。

查看详情

 

维基百科

维基百科版本

元学习最初由Donald B. Maudsley(1979)描述为“学习者意识到并且越来越多地控制他们已经内化的感知,探究,学习和成长习惯的过程”。Maudsely将他的理论的概念基础设定为在假设,结构,变革过程和促进的标题下合成。阐述了五个原则以促进元学习。学习者必须:

  1. 有一个理论,无论多么原始;
  2. 在安全的支持性社会和物质环境中工作;
  3. 发现其规则和假设;
  4. 重新与环境中的现实信息联系起来;
  5. 通过改变其规则/假设来重组自己。

John Biggs(1985)后来使用元学习的概念来描述“意识到并控制自己的学习”的状态。您可以将元学习定义为对学习本身现象的认识和理解,而不是学科知识。这个定义隐含着学习者对学习环境的感知,包括了解学科的期望是什么,更简单地说,是对特定学习任务的要求。

在这种背景下,元学习取决于学习者的学习观念,认识论信念,学习过程和学术技能,在此总结为一种学习方法。具有高水平元学习意识的学生能够评估她/他的学习方法的有效性,并根据学习任务的要求对其进行管理。相反,元学习意识低的学生将无法反思她/他的学习方法或学习任务集的性质。因此,当学习变得更加困难和苛刻时,他/她将无法成功适应。

查看详情

 

 

easyai公众号