A vector to understand vector

What is a vector?

Vectors have two main dimensions: size and direction.

Size: The length of the arrow indicates the size

Direction: The direction pointed by the arrow indicates the direction

Vector has 2 dimensions of size and direction

3 ways to express vectors

Algebraic representation

Lowercase English letters for general printing (a,b,cEtc.), handwriting is indicated by adding an arrow (→) to the letters a, b, and c, such as

Algebraic representation of vectors

 

Geometric representation

Vectors can be represented by directed line segments. The length of the directed line segment represents the size of the vector, and the size of the vector, that is, the length of the vector.

Geometric representation of a vector

 

Coordinate representation

In the plane rectangular coordinate system, take two unit vectors in the same direction as the x-axis and y-axis, respectively.i.jAs a set of substrates. a is an arbitrary vector in the plane rectangular coordinate system, and the vector a is set with the coordinate origin O as the starting point P as the end point. From the basic theorem of the plane vector, we know that there is only one pair of real numbers (x, y) such that a = xi + yj, so the pair of real numbers (x, y) is called the coordinates of the vector a, and is written as a = (x, y) . This is the coordinate representation of the vector a. Where (x, y) is the coordinates of point P. The vector a is called the position vector of the point P.

Coordinate representation of vector

Easyai public number

In the space rectangular coordinate system, take 3 unit vectors that are the same as the x-axis, y-axis, and z-axis directions, respectively.i.j.kAs a set of substrates. If it is an arbitrary vector in the coordinate system, the vector a is set with the coordinate origin O as a starting point. According to the basic theorem of space, there is only one set of real numbers (x, y, z), so that a = ix + jy + kz, so the real number pair (x, y, z) is called the coordinate of the vector a, and is written as a = (x, y, z). This is the coordinate representation of the vector a. Where (x, y, z) are the coordinates of point P. The vector a is called the position vector of the point P.

Of course, for multi-dimensional space vectors, it can be obtained by analogy.

Matrix representation of vectors

Matrix representation of vectors

 

Relationship of scalar, vector, matrix, tensor

These 4 concepts are constantly rising in dimensionality. It is easier to understand the metaphorical explanation with the concept of point-line polyhedron:

  • Point - scalar (Scalar
  • Line - vector
  • Face-matrixmatrix
  • Body - tensor

Relationship of scalar, vector, matrix, tensor

Interested parties can learn more about the following:

'Understanding scalars in one article"

'Understanding Vectors in One Article"

'Understanding matrices in one article"

'Understand tensor in one article"

Easyai public number

 

Baidu Encyclopedia and Wikipedia

Baidu Encyclopedia version

In mathematics, vectors (also known as Euclidean vectors, geometric vectors, vectors) refer to quantities with magnitude and direction. It can be visually represented as a line segment with an arrow. The arrow indicates: the direction of the representative vector; the length of the line segment: represents the size of the vector. The quantity corresponding to the vector is called the quantity (the scalar quantity in physics), and the quantity (or scalar) has only the size and no direction.

The notation of the vector: the printed body is recorded as a bold (bold) letter (such as a, b, u, v), and a small arrow "→" is added to the top of the letter when writing. If the start (A) and end (B) of the vector are given, the vector can be denoted as AB (and added to the top →). In a space Cartesian coordinate system, vectors can also be represented in pairs, for example, xOy plane (2,3) is a vector.

see details

Wikipedia version

Vector spaces (also known as linear spaces) are vectors that are called collections of objects, which can be added together and multiplied by numbers ("zooms"), so-called scalars. A scalar is usually considered a real number, but there is also a vector space where the scalar is multiplied by a complex number, a rational number, or usually any field. Vector addition and scalar multiplication operations must satisfy certain of the requirements listed below, called axioms.

Euclidean vectors are an example of vector space. They represent physical quantities, such as forces: any two forces (of the same type) can be added to produce a third sum of multiplicative force vectors from one real multiplier to another force vector. Again, but in a more geometric sense, vectors representing displacements in a plane or three-dimensional space also form a vector space. Vectors in vector space do not have to be arrow-shaped objects because they appear in the above example: vectors are treated as abstract mathematical objects with specific properties, which in some cases can be treated as arrows.

Vector spaces are the subject of linear algebra and are well characterized by their dimensions. Roughly speaking, it specifies the number of independent directions in space. The infinite dimensional vector space naturally appears in mathematical analysis. As a function space, its vector is a function. These vector spaces typically have an additional structure, which can be a topology, allowing for consideration of proximity and continuity issues. In these topologies, the topology defined by the specification or inner product is more commonly used because it has a distance between the two vectors. Especially the Banach space and HilbertIn the case of space, this is the basis of mathematical analysis.

see details

Easyai public number

一文看懂向量vector

什么是向量?

向量主要有2个维度:大小、方向。

大小:箭头的长度表示大小

方向:箭头所指的方向表示方向

向量有大小和方向2个维度

向量的3种表达方式

代数表示

一般印刷用黑体的小写英文字母(abc等)来表示,手写用在a、b、c等字母上加一箭头(→)表示,如

向量的代数表示

 

几何表示

向量可以用有向线段来表示。有向线段的长度表示向量的大小,向量的大小,也就是向量的长度。

向量的几何表示

 

坐标表示

在平面直角坐标系中,分别取与x轴、y轴方向相同的两个单位向量ij作为一组基底。a为平面直角坐标系内的任意向量,以坐标原点O为起点P为终点作向量a。由平面向量基本定理可知,有且只有一对实数(x,y),使得a=xi+yj,因此把实数对(x,y)叫做向量a的坐标,记作a=(x,y)。这就是向量a的坐标表示。其中(x,y)就是点 P 的坐标。向量a称为点P的位置向量。

向量的坐标表示

easyai公众号

在空间直角坐标系中,分别取与x轴、y轴,z轴方向相同的3个单位向量ijk作为一组基底。若为该坐标系内的任意向量,以坐标原点O为起点作向量a。由空间基本定理知,有且只有一组实数(x,y,z),使得a=ix+jy+kz,因此把实数对(x,y,z)叫做向量a的坐标,记作a=(x,y,z)。这就是向量a的坐标表示。其中(x,y,z),就是点P的坐标。向量a称为点P的位置向量。

当然,对于多维的空间向量,可以通过类推得到。

向量的矩阵表示

向量的矩阵表示

 

标量、向量、矩阵、张量的关系

这4个概念是维度不断上升的,我们用点线面体的概念来比喻解释会更加容易理解:

  • 点——标量(scalar
  • 线——向量(vector)
  • 面——矩阵(matrix
  • 体——张量(tensor)

标量、向量、矩阵、张量的关系

感兴趣的可以通过下面的内容了解详情:

一文看懂标量

一文看懂向量

一文看懂矩阵

一文看懂张量

easyai公众号

 

百度百科和维基百科

百度百科版本

在数学中,向量(也称为欧几里得向量、几何向量、矢量),指具有大小(magnitude)和方向的量。它可以形象化地表示为带箭头的线段。箭头所指:代表向量的方向;线段长度:代表向量的大小。与向量对应的量叫做数量(物理学中称标量),数量(或标量)只有大小,没有方向。

向量的记法:印刷体记作黑体(粗体)的字母(如a、b、u、v),书写时在字母顶上加一小箭头“→”。 如果给定向量的起点(A)和终点(B),可将向量记作AB(并于顶上加→)。在空间直角坐标系中,也能把向量以数对形式表示,例如xOy平面中(2,3)是一向量。

查看详情

维基百科版本

向量空间(也称为线性空间)是称为对象的集合的载体,其可被添加在一起,并乘以由数字(“缩放”),所谓的标量。标量通常被认为是实数,但是也存在标量乘以复数,有理数或通常任何字段的向量空间。向量加法和标量乘法的运算必须满足下面列出的某些要求,称为公理。

欧几里德向量是向量空间的一个例子。它们代表物理量,诸如力:任何两个力(同一类型的)可被添加,以产生第三和的相乘力矢量由一实数乘法器是另一个力矢量。同样,但在更几何意义上,表示平面或三维空间中的位移的矢量也形成矢量空间。向量空间中的向量不一定必须是箭头状对象,因为它们出现在上述示例中:向量被视为具有特定属性的抽象数学对象,在某些情况下可以将其视为箭头。

向量空间是线性代数的主题,并且通过它们的维度很好地表征,粗略地说,它指定了空间中独立方向的数量。无限维向量空间在数学分析中自然出现,作为函数空间,其向量是函数。这些向量空间通常具有附加结构,其可以是拓扑结构,允许考虑接近度和连续性问题。在这些拓扑中,由规范或内积定义的拓扑更常用,因为它具有距离概念两个向量之间。特别是Banach空间和Hilbert空间的情况,这是数学分析的基础。

查看详情

easyai公众号