Baidu Encyclopedia version

Currently, the ASIC in the integrated circuit industry is considered to be an integrated circuit designed for a specific purpose. Refers to integrated circuits designed and manufactured to meet the needs of specific users and the needs of specific electronic systems. The ASIC is characterized by the needs of specific users. ASICs have the advantages of smaller size, lower power consumption, higher reliability, improved performance, enhanced confidentiality, and lower cost compared with general-purpose integrated circuits in mass production.

see details

 

Wikipedia version

Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs) are custom-made for specific applications and are not intended for general use (IC). For example, a chip designed to operate in a digital recorder or a high efficiency bitcoin excavator is an ASIC. Dedicated Standard Products (ASSP) are between ASICs and industry standard integrated circuits such as the 7400 family or the 4000 family.

As feature sizes shrink and design tools continue to improve over the years, the biggest complexity (and functionality) in ASICs has increased from 5,000 logic gates to over 1 billion. Modern ASICs typically include the entire microprocessor, memory block, including large building blocks such as ROM, RAM, EEPROM, and flash memory. This type of ASIC is often referred to as an SoC (system on a chip). Designers of digital ASICs typically use a hardware description language (HDL) such as Verilog or VHDL to describe the functionality of the ASIC.

Field programmable gate arrayFPGAIs a modern technology for building breadboards or prototypes from standard components; programmable logic blocks and programmable interconnects allow the same FP to be used in many different applicationsGA. For smaller designs or lower throughput, FPGAs may be more cost effective than ASIC designs, even in production. ASIC's non-recurring engineering (NRE) costs can reach millions of dollars. As a result, device manufacturers typically prefer FPGAs for prototyping and devices with low throughput and ASICs for very large throughput, where NRE costs can be amortized over many devices.

see details

百度百科版版本

目前,在集成电路界ASIC被认为是一种为专门目的而设计的集成电路。是指应特定用户要求和特定电子系统的需要而设计、制造的集成电路。ASIC的特点是面向特定用户的需求,ASIC在批量生产时与通用集成电路相比具有体积更小、功耗更低、可靠性提高、性能提高、保密性增强、成本降低等优点。

查看详情

 

维基百科版本

应用专用集成电路(ASIC)是集成电路的定制用于特定用途,而不是旨在用于一般用途(IC)。例如,设计用于在数字录音机或高效 比特币挖掘机中运行的芯片是ASIC。专用标准产品(ASSP)介于ASIC和7400系列或4000系列等行业标准集成电路之间。

随着功能尺寸的缩小和设计工具多年来的不断改进,ASIC中最大的复杂性(以及功能)已经从5,000个逻辑门增加到超过1亿个。现代的ASIC通常包括整个微处理器,存储器块,包括ROM,RAM,EEPROM,快闪存储器等大型构造块。这种ASIC通常被称为SoC(片上系统)。数字ASIC的设计者通常使用硬件描述语言(HDL)(例如Verilog或VHDL)来描述ASIC的功能。

现场可编程门阵列(FPGA)是现代技术,用于从标准部件构建面包板或原型; 可编程逻辑模块和可编程互连允许在许多不同的应用中使用相同的FPGA。对于较小的设计或较低的产量,FPGA可能比ASIC设计更具成本效益,即使在生产中也是如此。ASIC 的非经常性工程(NRE)成本可能达到数百万美元。因此,设备制造商通常更喜欢用于原型设计的 FPGA 和具有低产量的设备以及用于非常大的生产量的 ASIC,其中NRE成本可以在许多设备上摊销。

查看详情

 

easyai公众号