Read a random forest in a text

Random forest is an integrated algorithm composed of decision trees, and he can perform well in many cases.

This article will introduce the basic concepts of random forests, 4 construction steps, comparative evaluation of 4 methods, 10 advantages and disadvantages, and 4 application directions.

 

What is a random forest?

Random forest is a Bagging (short for Bootstrap AGgregation) method in integrated learning. If you use a graph to show the relationship between them is as follows:

Random forest belongs to the Bagging method in integrated learning

 

Decision Tree – Decision Tree

Graphical decision tree

Before explaining the random forest, you need to mention the decision tree first. Decision tree is a very simple algorithm. It is highly explanatory and conforms to human intuitive thinking. This is a supervised learning algorithm based on the if-then-else rule. The above picture can intuitively express the logic of the decision tree.

Learn more:"One article to understand the decision tree-Decision tree (3 steps + 3 typical algorithms + 10 advantages and disadvantages)"

 

Random Forest – Random Forest | RF

Graphical random forest

Random forests are made up of many decision trees, and there is no correlation between different decision trees.

When we perform the classification task, the new input sample enters, and each decision tree in the forest is judged and classified separately. Each decision tree will get its own classification result, and which classification result of the decision tree Most, then random forest will use this result as the final result.

 

4 steps to construct a random forest

4 steps to construct a random forest

Easyai public number

  1. A sample with a sample size of N is drawn N times with replacement, and one sample is drawn each time, and finally N samples are formed.The selected N samples are used to train a decision tree as the samples at the root node of the decision tree.
  2. When each sample has M attributes, when each node of the decision tree needs to be split, randomly select m attributes from these M attributes, and satisfy the condition m << M.Then use a certain strategy (such as information gain) from these m attributes to select 1 attribute as the split attribute of the node.
  3. In the decision tree formation process, each node must be split according to the step 2 (it is easy to understand that if the next attribute selected by the node is the attribute that was used just when its parent node was split, the node has reached the leaf. Node, no need to continue to split). Until it can't be split again. Note that no pruning is done during the formation of the entire decision tree.
  4. According to the steps 1~3, a large number of decision trees are created, which constitutes a random forest.

 

Advantages and disadvantages of random forests

advantage

  1. It can come out with very high dimensional (features) data, and no need to reduce dimension, no need to make feature selection
  2. It can judge the importance of the feature
  3. Can judge the interaction between different features
  4. Not easy to overfit
  5. Training speed is faster, easy to make parallel method
  6. It is relatively simple to implement
  7. For unbalanced data sets, it balances the error.
  8. If a large part of the features are lost, accuracy can still be maintained.

Disadvantage

  1. Random forests have been shown to fit over certain noisy classification or regression problems.
  2. For data with different values, attributes with more values ​​will have a greater impact on random forests, so the attribute weights generated by random forests on such data are not credible.

 

Random forest 4 implementation method comparison test

Random forests are commonly used machine learning algorithms that can be used for both classification and regression problems. This paper compares and tests the random forest algorithm implementations of scikit-learn, Spark MLlib, DolphinDB, and XGBoost. Evaluation indicators include memory usage, speed of operation, and classification accuracy.

The test results are as follows:

Random forest 4 implementation method comparison test

The test process and instructions are ignored. If you are interested, you can view the original text.Random forest algorithm 4 implementation comparison test: DolphinDB is the fastest, XGBoost is the worst performer"

 

4 application directions for random forests

4 application directions for random forests

Random forests can be used in many places:

  1. Classification of discrete values
  2. Regression of continuous values
  3. Unsupervised learning clustering
  4. Abnormal point detection

 

Baidu Encyclopedia + Wikipedia

Baidu Encyclopedia version

In machine learning, a random forest is a classifier that contains multiple decision trees, and the category of its output is determined by the mode of the category of the individual tree output. Leo Breiman and Adele Cutler developed an algorithm for deducing random forests.

see details

Wikipedia version

A random forest or stochastic decision forest is an integrated learning method for classification, regression, and other tasks that operates by building multiple decision trees at training time and outputting a class (classification) or average prediction (regression) as a class. Individual trees. Random decision-making forests correct the habit of decision trees over-fitting their training sets.

see details

 

Machine learning tutorial 2 that can be understood by liberal arts students: decision trees and random forests

 

Easyai public number

一文看懂随机森林

随机森林是一种由决策树构成的集成算法,他在很多情况下都能有不错的表现。

本文将介绍随机森林的基本概念、4 个构造步骤、4 种方式的对比评测、10 个优缺点和 4 个应用方向。

 

什么是随机森林?

随机森林属于 集成学习 中的 Bagging(Bootstrap AGgregation 的简称) 方法。如果用图来表示他们之间的关系如下:

随机森林属于集成学习中的Bagging方法

 

决策树 – Decision Tree

图解决策树

在解释随机森林前,需要先提一下决策树。决策树是一种很简单的算法,他的解释性强,也符合人类的直观思维。这是一种基于if-then-else规则的有监督学习算法,上面的图片可以直观的表达决策树的逻辑。

了解详情:《一文看懂决策树 – Decision tree(3个步骤+3种典型算法+10个优缺点)

 

随机森林 – Random Forest | RF

图解随机森林

随机森林是由很多决策树构成的,不同决策树之间没有关联。

当我们进行分类任务时,新的输入样本进入,就让森林中的每一棵决策树分别进行判断和分类,每个决策树会得到一个自己的分类结果,决策树的分类结果中哪一个分类最多,那么随机森林就会把这个结果当做最终的结果。

 

构造随机森林的 4 个步骤

构造随机森林的4个步骤

  1. 假如有N个样本,则有放回的随机选择N个样本(每次随机选择一个样本,然后返回继续选择)。这选择好了的N个样本用来训练一个决策树,作为决策树根节点处的样本。
  2. 当每个样本有M个属性时,在决策树的每个节点需要分裂时,随机从这M个属性中选取出m个属性,满足条件m << M。然后从这m个属性中采用某种策略(比如说信息增益)来选择1个属性作为该节点的分裂属性。
  3. 决策树形成过程中每个节点都要按照步骤2来分裂(很容易理解,如果下一次该节点选出来的那一个属性是刚刚其父节点分裂时用过的属性,则该节点已经达到了叶子节点,无须继续分裂了)。一直到不能够再分裂为止。注意整个决策树形成过程中没有进行剪枝。
  4. 按照步骤1~3建立大量的决策树,这样就构成了随机森林了。

 

随机森林的优缺点

优点

  1. 它可以出来很高维度(特征很多)的数据,并且不用降维,无需做特征选择
  2. 它可以判断特征的重要程度
  3. 可以判断出不同特征之间的相互影响
  4. 不容易过拟合
  5. 训练速度比较快,容易做成并行方法
  6. 实现起来比较简单
  7. 对于不平衡的数据集来说,它可以平衡误差。
  8. 如果有很大一部分的特征遗失,仍可以维持准确度。

缺点

  1. 随机森林已经被证明在某些噪音较大的分类或回归问题上会过拟合。
  2. 对于有不同取值的属性的数据,取值划分较多的属性会对随机森林产生更大的影响,所以随机森林在这种数据上产出的属性权值是不可信的

 

随机森林 4 种实现方法对比测试

随机森林是常用的机器学习算法,既可以用于分类问题,也可用于回归问题。本文对 scikit-learn、Spark MLlib、DolphinDB、XGBoost 四个平台的随机森林算法实现进行对比测试。评价指标包括内存占用、运行速度和分类准确性。

测试结果如下:

随机森林 4 种实现方法对比测试

测试过程及说明忽略,感兴趣的可以查看原文《随机森林算法 4 种实现方法对比测试:DolphinDB 速度最快,XGBoost 表现最差

 

随机森林的 4 个应用方向

随机森林的 4 个应用方向

随机森林可以在很多地方使用:

  1. 对离散值的分类
  2. 对连续值的回归
  3. 无监督学习聚类
  4. 异常点检测

 

百度百科+维基百科

百度百科版本

在机器学习中,随机森林是一个包含多个决策树的分类器, 并且其输出的类别是由个别树输出的类别的众数而定。 Leo Breiman和Adele Cutler发展出推论出随机森林的算法。

查看详情

维基百科版本

随机森林或随机决策森林是用于分类,回归和其他任务的集成学习方法,其通过在训练时构建多个决策树并输出作为类的模式(分类)或平均预测(回归)的类来操作。个别树木。随机决策森林纠正决策树过度拟合其训练集的习惯。

查看详情

 

文科生也能看懂的机器学习教程2:决策树和随机森林