What is Naive Bayes?

Naive Bayes is a simple but surprisingly powerful predictive modeling algorithm.

The model consists of two types of probabilities that can be calculated directly from your training data:

  1. Probability of each class
  2. Give the conditional probability of each class for each x value.

Once calculated, the probabilistic model can be used to predict new data using Bayes' theorem. When your data is real, you usually assume a Gaussian distribution (bell curve) so that you can easily estimate these probabilities.

Naive Bayesian theorem

Naive Bayes is called simplicity because it assumes that each input variable is independent. This is a powerful assumption that is unrealistic for actual data, however, the technique is very effective for a wide range of complex problems.

 

Advantages and disadvantages of Naive Bayes

advantage:

  • The naive Bayesian model originated from classical mathematical theory and has a solid mathematical foundation and stable classification efficiency.
  • It has a higher speed for large numbers of training and queries.Even with very large training sets, there is usually only a relatively small number of features for each project, and the training and classification of the project is only a mathematical operation of the feature probability;
  • It works well for small-scale data, can handle multi-category tasks, and is suitable for incremental training (that is, it can train new samples in real time);
  • Less sensitive to missing data, the algorithm is also relatively simple, often used for text classification;
  • Naïve Bayes explains the results easily.

 

Things to note:

  • Need to calculate the prior probability;
  • There is an error rate in the classification decision;
  • Very sensitive to the form of input data;
  • due toThe assumption of sample attribute independence is used, so if the sample attributes are related, the effect is not good.

 

 

Baidu Encyclopedia version

The naive Bayesian method is a classification method based on Bayes' theorem and the independent assumption of feature conditions. The two broadest classification models are the Decision Tree Model and the Naive Bayesian Model (NBM).

Compared with the decision tree model, the Naive Bayes Classifier (NBC) originates from classical mathematical theory and has a solid mathematical foundation and stable classification efficiency. At the same time, the NBC model requires few parameters to estimate, is less sensitive to missing data, and the algorithm is relatively simple. In theory, the NBC model has the smallest error rate compared to other classification methods. But this is not always the case. This is because the NBC model assumes that the attributes are independent of each other. This assumption is often not true in practical applications, which has a certain impact on the correct classification of the NBC model.

see details

 

Wikipedia version

In machine learning, the naive Bayes classifier is a series of simple "probabilistic classifiers" that apply strong (naive) independent assumptions between features based on Bayes' theorem.

Since the 20 century 50 era, Naïve Bayes has been extensively studied. It was introduced to the text retrieval community under different names in the 20 century 60 era, and is still a popular (baseline) method of text categorization, which is to judge documents as belonging to one category or another (eg spam or legal, sports or Politics, etc.) are characterized by word frequency. With proper pre-processing, it has more advanced methods in this field, including support vector machines, which are competitive. It is also suitable for automatic medical diagnosis.

The Naive Bayes classifier is highly scalable, requiring linear parameters for the number of variables (features/predictors) in learning problems. Maximum likelihood training can be done by evaluation to complete the expression of the closed form, which requires linear time, rather than being used by many other types of classifiers by expensive iterative approximations.

In the statistics and computer science literature, the naive Bayesian model is known by various names, including simple Bayes and independent Bayes. All of these names refer to the use of Bayes' theorem in classifier decision rules, but naive Bayes (necessarily) is not a Bayesian method.

see details

什么是朴素贝叶斯?

朴素贝叶斯是一种简单但令人惊讶的强大的预测建模算法。

该模型由两种类型的概率组成,可以直接根据您的训练数据计算:

  1. 每个班级的概率
  2. 给出每个x值的每个类的条件概率。

一旦计算,概率模型可用于使用贝叶斯定理对新数据进行预测。当您的数据是实值时,通常假设高斯分布(钟形曲线),以便您可以轻松估计这些概率。

朴素贝叶斯定理

朴素贝叶斯被称为朴素,因为它假设每个输入变量是独立的。这是一个强有力的假设,对于实际数据是不现实的,然而,该技术对于大范围的复杂问题非常有效。

 

朴素贝叶斯的优缺点

优点:

  • 朴素贝叶斯模型发源于古典数学理论,有着坚实的数学基础,以及稳定的分类效率。
  • 对大数量训练和查询时具有较高的速度。即使使用超大规模的训练集,针对每个项目通常也只会有相对较少的特征数,并且对项目的训练和分类也仅仅是特征概率的数学运算而已;
  • 对小规模的数据表现很好,能个处理多分类任务,适合增量式训练(即可以实时的对新增的样本进行训练);
  • 对缺失数据不太敏感,算法也比较简单,常用于文本分类;
  • 朴素贝叶斯对结果解释容易理解。

 

缺点:

  • 需要计算先验概率;
  • 分类决策存在错误率;
  • 对输入数据的表达形式很敏感;
  • 由于使用了样本属性独立性的假设,所以如果样本属性有关联时其效果不好。

 

 

百度百科版本

朴素贝叶斯法是基于贝叶斯定理与特征条件独立假设的分类方法 。最为广泛的两种分类模型是决策树模型(Decision Tree Model)和朴素贝叶斯模型(Naive Bayesian Model,NBM)。

和决策树模型相比,朴素贝叶斯分类器(Naive Bayes Classifier,或 NBC)发源于古典数学理论,有着坚实的数学基础,以及稳定的分类效率。同时,NBC模型所需估计的参数很少,对缺失数据不太敏感,算法也比较简单。理论上,NBC模型与其他分类方法相比具有最小的误差率。但是实际上并非总是如此,这是因为NBC模型假设属性之间相互独立,这个假设在实际应用中往往是不成立的,这给NBC模型的正确分类带来了一定影响。

查看详情

 

维基百科版本

在机器学习中,朴素贝叶斯分类器是一系列简单的“ 概率分类器 ”,它基于贝叶斯定理应用特征之间的强(天真)独立假设。

自20世纪50年代以来,朴素贝叶斯就被广泛研究过。它在20世纪60年代早期以不同的名称引入文本检索社区,并且仍然是文本分类的流行(基线)方法,即将文档判断为属于一个类别或另一个类别的问题(例如垃圾邮件或合法,体育或政治等)以词频为特征。通过适当的预处理,它在这个领域具有更高级的方法,包括支持向量机,具有竞争力。它也适用于自动医疗诊断。

朴素贝叶斯分类器具有高度可扩展性,在学习问题中需要多个变量(特征/预测器)数量的线性参数。最大似然的训练可以通过评估来完成闭合形式的表达,这需要线性时间,而不是由昂贵的迭代逼近作为用于许多其它类型的分类器。

在统计学和计算机科学文献中,朴素的贝叶斯模型以各种名称而闻名,包括简单的贝叶斯和独立贝叶斯。所有这些名称都引用了贝叶斯定理在分类器决策规则中的使用,但朴素贝叶斯(必然)不是贝叶斯方法。

查看详情

 

easyai公众号