A text to understand reinforcement learning

Reinforcement learning is a learning method of machine learning, which corresponds to supervised learning and unsupervised learning. This article will introduce in detail the basic concepts of reinforcement learning, application scenarios and mainstream reinforcement learning algorithms and classification.

 

What is reinforcement learning?

Reinforcement learning is not a specific algorithm, but a general term for a class of algorithms.

If used for comparison, he is similar to supervised learning, unsupervised learning, and is a collective learning method.

Reinforcement learning is one of the learning methods of machine learning

The idea of ​​reinforce learning algorithms is very simple. Take games as an example. If you adopt a strategy in the game to achieve higher scores, then further strengthen this strategy in order to continue to achieve better results. This strategy is very similar to the various "performance rewards" in everyday life. We often use such strategies to improve our game level.

In the game Flappy bird, we need a simple click to control the birds, avoid the various water pipes, and fly as far as possible, because the farther you fly, you can get higher points rewards.

This is a typical intensive learning scenario:

  • The machine has a clear bird role - agent
  • Need to control the bird farther away - the goal
  • Need to avoid all kinds of water pipes throughout the game - environment
  • The way to avoid the water pipe is to let the bird fly hard - action
  • The farther you fly, the more points you will earn - rewards

The game is a typical intensive learning scene

You will find that the biggest difference between intensive learning and supervised learning, unsupervised learning is that you don't need a lot of “data feeding”. Instead, learn some skills by trying to keep on trying.

 

Application scenarios for reinforcement learning

Intensive learning is not mature enough at present, and the application scenarios are relatively limited. The biggest application scenario is the game.

Games

Intensive learning is most used in the game field

2016 Year: AlphaGo Master defeats Li Shishi, using reinforcement learning AlphaGo Zero It took only 40 days to beat his predecessor AlphaGo Master.

What does AlphaGo Zero, which is hailed by scientists as a "world feat," for ordinary people? 》

2019 1 Month 25 Day:AlphaStar Defeat the top human pros in XScaleX:2 in StarCraft 10.

"StarCraft 2 Human 1: 10 loses to AI! DeepMind "AlphaStar" Evolution

2019 4 Month 13 Day: OpenAI defeated the Human World Championship in the Dota2 competition.

"2: 0! Dota2 World Champion OG, rubbed by OpenAI on the ground

 

robot

Intensive learning also has many applications in the field of robotics.

Easyai public number

Robots are much like "agents" in intensive learning. In the field of robotics, intensive learning can also play a huge role.

"Robots can achieve balanced control like people through intensive learning"

"Deep Learning and Reinforcement Learning, Google's Long-Term Reasoning Ability to Train Robot Arms"

"Berkeley Intensive Learning New Research: Robots Learn Trajectory Tracking with Only a Frequent Random Data"

 

Others

Intensive learning also has some applications in the areas of recommendation systems, dialogue systems, education and training, advertising, and finance:

'Strengthening the strong combination of learning and recommendation systems"

'Strategy adaptation in dialogue management based on deep reinforcement learning"

'Strengthen the practical application of learning in the industry"

 

Mainstream algorithm for reinforcement learning

Model-Free vs. Model-Based

Before introducing the detailed algorithm, let's take a look at the 2 big classification of the reinforcement learning algorithm. The important differences in this 2 classification are:Whether the agent can fully understand or learn the model of the environment

Model-Based has an early understanding of the environment, and can consider planning in advance, but the disadvantage is that if the model is inconsistent with the real world, it will not perform well in the actual use scenario.

Model-Free has abandoned model learning and is not as efficient as the former, but it is easier to implement and easier to adjust to a good state in real-world scenarios. and soModel-free learning methods are more popular and are more widely developed and tested.

 

Mainstream reinforcement learning algorithm classification

Model-free learning-Policy Optimization (Policy Optimization)

This series of methods expresses the strategy display as: \pi_{\theta}(a|s) . They directly target performance J(\pi_{\theta}) Gradient descent is performed to optimize, or indirectly, to optimize the local approximation function of the performance target. Optimization is basically based on Same strategy That is to say, each step of the update will only use the data collected when the latest policy is executed. Strategy optimization usually also includes learning out V_{\phi}(s) As V^{\pi}(s) Approximation, this function is used to determine how to update the policy.

An example of a strategy based optimization strategy:

  • A2C / A3C, maximizing performance directly through gradient descent
  • PPO , not directly by maximizing performance updates, but maximizing Target estimate Function, this function is the objective function J(\pi_{\theta}) Approximate estimate.

 

Model-free learning – Q-Learning

This series of algorithms learns the optimal action value function Q^*(s,a) Approximate function: Q_{\theta}(s,a) . They are usually based on Bellman equation The objective function. Optimization process belongs to Different strategy Series, which means that training data can be used at any point in time for each update, regardless of how the agent chooses to explore the environment when acquiring data. The corresponding strategy is passed Q^*and \pi^* The link between the get. The action of the agent is given by the following formula:

a(s) = \arg \max_a Q_{\theta}(s,a).

Q-Learning based approach

  • DQN, a classic way to develop deep reinforcement learning
  • And C51, learning about the distribution function of returns, the expectation is Q^*

 

Model learning-pure planning

This most basic approach, which never shows a representation strategy, is purely using planning techniques to select actions, such as Model predictive control (model-predictive control, MPC). In the model predictive control, each time the agent observes the environment, it will calculate a plan that is optimal for the current model. The plan here refers to all the actions that the agent will take in a fixed period of time in the future (through the learned value). Functions, planning algorithms may take into account future rewards that are out of scope). The agent first performs the first action of the plan and then immediately discards the rest of the plan. Each time it prepares to interact with the environment, it calculates a new plan to avoid performing actions that are less than planned.

  • MBMF Model predictive control based on learned environmental model on some standard benchmark tasks of deep reinforcement learning

 

Model learning – Expert Iteration

The later representation of pure planning, the display representation of the use and learning strategies: \pi_{\theta}(a|s) . The agent applies a planning algorithm in the model, similar to Monte Carlo Tree Search, which generates candidate behaviors of the plan by sampling the current strategy. This algorithm gets better actions than the strategy itself generates, so it is an "expert" relative to the strategy. The strategy is then updated to produce actions that are more similar to the output of the planning algorithm.

  • ExIt The algorithm uses this algorithm to train deep neural networks to play Hex
  • AlphaZero Another example of this method

 

In addition to model-free learning and classification with model learning, there are several other ways to classify reinforcement learning:

  • Based on probability vs based value
  • Round update VS single step update
  • Online learning VS offline learning

Please check the detailsIntensive learning method summary "

 

Baidu Encyclopedia and Wikipedia

Baidu Encyclopedia version

Reinforcement learning, also known as reinforcement learning and evaluation learning, is an important machine learning method, and has many applications in the fields of intelligent control robots and analysis and prediction.

However, reinforcement learning has not been mentioned in the traditional machine learning classification. In the connectionist learning, the learning algorithms are divided into three types, namely unsupervised learning, supervised leaning and reinforcement learning.

see details

Wikipedia version

Reinforcement Learning (RL) is an area of ​​machine learning that involves how software agents can take action in the environment to maximize the concept of cumulative rewards. This problem is studied in many other disciplines due to its generality, such as game theory, control theory, operations research, information theory, simulation-based optimization, multi-agent systems, group intelligence, statistics and genetic algorithms. . In the field of operations research and control, reinforcement learning is called approximate dynamic programming or neural dynamic programming.

see details

 

Easyai public number

一文看懂强化学习

强化学习是机器学习的一种学习方式,它跟监督学习、无监督学习是对应的。本文将详细介绍强化学习的基本概念、应用场景和主流的强化学习算法及分类。

 

什么是强化学习?

强化学习并不是某一种特定的算法,而是一类算法的统称。

如果用来做对比的话,他跟监督学习,无监督学习 是类似的,是一种统称的学习方式。

强化学习是机器学习的学习方法之一

强化学习算法的思路非常简单,以游戏为例,如果在游戏中采取某种策略可以取得较高的得分,那么就进一步「强化」这种策略,以期继续取得较好的结果。这种策略与日常生活中的各种「绩效奖励」非常类似。我们平时也常常用这样的策略来提高自己的游戏水平。

在 Flappy bird 这个游戏中,我们需要简单的点击操作来控制小鸟,躲过各种水管,飞的越远越好,因为飞的越远就能获得更高的积分奖励。

这就是一个典型的强化学习场景:

  • 机器有一个明确的小鸟角色——代理
  • 需要控制小鸟飞的更远——目标
  • 整个游戏过程中需要躲避各种水管——环境
  • 躲避水管的方法是让小鸟用力飞一下——行动
  • 飞的越远,就会获得越多的积分——奖励

游戏是典型的强化学习场景

你会发现,强化学习和监督学习、无监督学习 最大的不同就是不需要大量的“数据喂养”。而是通过自己不停的尝试来学会某些技能。

 

强化学习的应用场景

强化学习目前还不够成熟,应用场景也比较局限。最大的应用场景就是游戏了。

游戏

强化学习在游戏领域应用最多

2016年:AlphaGo Master 击败李世石,使用强化学习的 AlphaGo Zero 仅花了40天时间,就击败了自己的前辈 AlphaGo Master。

《被科学家誉为「世界壮举」的AlphaGo Zero, 对普通人意味着什么?》

2019年1月25日:AlphaStar 在《星际争霸2》中以 10:1 击败了人类顶级职业玩家。

《星际争霸2人类1:10输给AI!DeepMind “AlphaStar”进化神速》

2019年4月13日:OpenAI 在《Dota2》的比赛中战胜了人类世界冠军。

《2:0!Dota2世界冠军OG,被OpenAI按在地上摩擦》

 

机器人

强化学习在机器人领域也有不少应用

easyai公众号

机器人很像强化学习里的「代理」,在机器人领域,强化学习也可以发挥巨大的作用。

《机器人通过强化学习,可以实现像人一样的平衡控制》

《深度学习与强化学习相结合,谷歌训练机械臂的长期推理能力》

《伯克利强化学习新研究:机器人只用几分钟随机数据就能学会轨迹跟踪》

 

其他

强化学习在推荐系统,对话系统,教育培训,广告,金融等领域也有一些应用:

强化学习与推荐系统的强强联合

基于深度强化学习的对话管理中的策略自适应

强化学习在业界的实际应用

 

强化学习的主流算法

免模型学习(Model-Free) vs 有模型学习(Model-Based)

在介绍详细算法之前,我们先来了解一下强化学习算法的2大分类。这2个分类的重要差异是:智能体是否能完整了解或学习到所在环境的模型

有模型学习(Model-Based)对环境有提前的认知,可以提前考虑规划,但是缺点是如果模型跟真实世界不一致,那么在实际使用场景下会表现的不好。

免模型学习(Model-Free)放弃了模型学习,在效率上不如前者,但是这种方式更加容易实现,也容易在真实场景下调整到很好的状态。所以免模型学习方法更受欢迎,得到更加广泛的开发和测试。

 

主流的强化学习算法分类

免模型学习 – 策略优化(Policy Optimization)

这个系列的方法将策略显示表示为: \pi_{\theta}(a|s) 。 它们直接对性能目标 J(\pi_{\theta}) 进行梯度下降进行优化,或者间接地,对性能目标的局部近似函数进行优化。优化基本都是基于 同策略 的,也就是说每一步更新只会用最新的策略执行时采集到的数据。策略优化通常还包括学习出 V_{\phi}(s) ,作为 V^{\pi}(s) 的近似,该函数用于确定如何更新策略。

基于策略优化的方法举例:

  • A2C / A3C, 通过梯度下降直接最大化性能
  • PPO , 不直接通过最大化性能更新,而是最大化 目标估计 函数,这个函数是目标函数 J(\pi_{\theta}) 的近似估计。

 

免模型学习 – Q-Learning

这个系列的算法学习最优行动值函数 Q^*(s,a) 的近似函数: Q_{\theta}(s,a) 。它们通常使用基于 贝尔曼方程 的目标函数。优化过程属于 异策略 系列,这意味着每次更新可以使用任意时间点的训练数据,不管获取数据时智能体选择如何探索环境。对应的策略是通过 Q^*and \pi^* 之间的联系得到的。智能体的行动由下面的式子给出:

a(s) = \arg \max_a Q_{\theta}(s,a).

基于 Q-Learning 的方法

  • DQN, 一个让深度强化学习得到发展的经典方法
  • 以及 C51, 学习关于回报的分布函数,其期望是 Q^*

 

有模型学习 – 纯规划

这种最基础的方法,从来不显示的表示策略,而是纯使用规划技术来选择行动,例如 模型预测控制 (model-predictive control, MPC)。在模型预测控制中,智能体每次观察环境的时候,都会计算得到一个对于当前模型最优的规划,这里的规划指的是未来一个固定时间段内,智能体会采取的所有行动(通过学习值函数,规划算法可能会考虑到超出范围的未来奖励)。智能体先执行规划的第一个行动,然后立即舍弃规划的剩余部分。每次准备和环境进行互动时,它会计算出一个新的规划,从而避免执行小于规划范围的规划给出的行动。

  • MBMF 在一些深度强化学习的标准基准任务上,基于学习到的环境模型进行模型预测控制

 

有模型学习 – Expert Iteration

纯规划的后来之作,使用、学习策略的显示表示形式: \pi_{\theta}(a|s) 。智能体在模型中应用了一种规划算法,类似蒙特卡洛树搜索(Monte Carlo Tree Search),通过对当前策略进行采样生成规划的候选行为。这种算法得到的行动比策略本身生成的要好,所以相对于策略来说,它是“专家”。随后更新策略,以产生更类似于规划算法输出的行动。

  • ExIt 算法用这种算法训练深层神经网络来玩 Hex
  • AlphaZero 这种方法的另一个例子

 

除了免模型学习和有模型学习的分类外,强化学习还有其他几种分类方式:

  • 基于概率 VS 基于价值
  • 回合更新 VS 单步更新
  • 在线学习 VS 离线学习

详细请查看《强化学习方法汇总 》

 

百度百科和维基百科

百度百科版本

强化学习(reinforcement learning),又称再励学习、评价学习,是一种重要的机器学习方法,在智能控制机器人及分析预测等领域有许多应用。

但在传统的机器学习分类中没有提到过强化学习,而在连接主义学习中,把学习算法分为三种类型,即非监督学习(unsupervised learning)、监督学习(supervised leaning)和强化学习。

查看详情

维基百科版本

强化学习(RL)是机器学习的一个领域,涉及软件代理如何在环境中采取行动以最大化一些累积奖励的概念。该问题由于其一般性,在许多其他学科中得到研究,如博弈论,控制理论,运筹学,信息论,基于仿真的优化,多智能体系统,群智能,统计和遗传算法。。在运筹学和控制文献中,强化学习被称为近似动态规划或神经动态规划。

查看详情

 

easyai公众号