A text to understand logistic regression

This article will introduce the basic concepts, advantages and disadvantages of logical regression and practical application cases in an easy-to-understand way. At the same time, some comparisons will be made with linear regression, so that you can effectively distinguish different algorithms of 2.

 

What is logistic regression?

Logical regression in machine learning

The position of linear regression is shown in the figure above. It belongs to machine learning-supervised learning-classification-logistic regression.

Extended reading:

'I understand machine learning in one article! (3 learning methods + 7 practical steps + 15 common algorithms)"

'I understand supervised learning in one article (basic concept + 4 step flow + 9 typical algorithm)"

Logistic Regression mainly solves the problem of two classifications and is used to indicate the possibility of something happening..

What is logistic regression?

such as:

  • The possibility that an email is spam (yes, no)
  • The possibility of buying a good (buy, not buy)
  • The possibility of an ad being clicked (point, no point)

 

Advantages and disadvantages of logistic regression

advantage:

  • Simple to implement, widely used in industrial issues;
  • The amount of calculation at the time of classification is very small, the speed is fast, and the storage resources are low;
  • Convenient observation sample probability scores;
  • For logistic regression, multicollinearity is not a problem, it can be combined with L2 regularization to solve the problem;
  • The calculation is not costly and easy to understand and implement;

Things to note:

  • When the feature space is large, the performance of logistic regression is not very good;
  • easilyUnder-fitting, the general accuracy is not too high
  • A large number of multi-class features or variables are not handled well;
  • Can only deal with two classification problems (softmax derived from this can be used for multi-classification), and mustLinear separability;
  • For nonlinear features, conversion is required;

 

Logistic regression VS linear regression

Linear regression and logistic regression are classic 2 algorithms. Often used for comparison, here are some of the differences between the two:

The difference between linear regression and logistic regression

  1. Linear regression can only be used for regression problems. Although the name is called regression, it is more used for classification problems. (For the difference between regression and classification, please see this article.I understand supervised learning in one article (basic concept + 4 step flow + 9 typical algorithm)》)
  2. Linear regression requires that the dependent variable is a continuous numerical variable, while logistic regression requires that the dependent variable be a discrete variable
  3. Linear regression requires a linear relationship between independent and dependent variables, while logistic regression does not require linear relationships between independent and dependent variables.
  4. Linear regression can intuitively express the relationship between independent and dependent variables, and logistic regression can not express the relationship between variables.

Note:

Independent variable: A variable that is actively operated and can be regarded as the cause of the "dependent variable"

Dependent variable: Changes due to changes in the "independent variable" can be seen as the result of the "independent variable". It is also the result we want to predict.

Interpretation of independent variables and dependent variables

 

US group application case

The US Mission will apply logical regression to the business to solve some practical problems. Here, for example, to predict the user's purchase preference for the category, the question can be converted to predict whether the user will purchase a certain category at a certain time in the future. If the purchase is marked as 1 and the purchase is not marked as 0, it is converted to A two-category problem. The features we use include historical information such as user browsing, purchases, etc., as shown in the following table:

The case of the US group applying logical regression

The time span of the extracted features is 30 days, and the label is 2 days. The generated training data is in the order of 7000 million (users who have acted in the US group for a month). We artificially aggregate similar small categories, and finally there are 18 more typical category collections. If the user purchases a certain category collection in a given time, it is taken as a positive example. With the training data, use the Spark version of the LR algorithm to train a two-category model for each category. If the number of iterations is set to 100, model training takes about 40 minutes. The average time for each model is 2 minutes.AUCMost of them are above 0.8. The trained model will be saved and used to predict the purchase probability in each category. The predicted results are used in scenarios such as recommendations.

Due to the different distribution of positive and negative cases between different categories, the distribution of positive and negative cases of some categories is very uneven. We have also tried different sampling methods, and the ultimate goal is to improve the online indicators such as the order rate. After some parameter tuning, the category preference feature brings more than 1% order increase rate to recommendation and sorting.

In addition, because the LR model is simple, efficient, and easy to implement, it can provide a good baseline for subsequent model optimization. We also use the LR model in services such as sorting.

 

Baidu Encyclopedia + Wikipedia

Baidu Encyclopedia version

Logistic regression is a generalized linear regression analysis model, which is often used in data mining, automatic disease diagnosis, economic forecasting and other fields. For example, explore the risk factors that cause disease, and predict the probability of disease occurrence based on risk factors.

Taking gastric cancer disease analysis as an example, two groups of people were selected, one group was gastric cancer group and one group was non-gastric cancer group. The two groups of people must have different signs and lifestyles. Therefore, the dependent variable is whether it is gastric cancer. If the value is “yes” or “no”, the independent variable can include many factors such as age, gender, eating habits, and Helicobacter pylori infection. The independent variables can be either continuous or classified. Then through logistic regression analysis, the weight of the independent variable can be obtained, so that we can roughly understand which factors are the risk factors of gastric cancer. At the same time, according to the weight value, the possibility of a person suffering from cancer can be predicted according to the risk factor.

see details

 

Wikipedia version

In statistics, the logical model is a widely used statistical model. In its basic form, logical functions are used to simulate binary dependent variables; there are more complex extensions. In regression analysis, logistic regression is a parameter that estimates the logical model; it is a form of binomial regression.

Mathematically, a binary logic model has a dependent variable with two possible values, such as pass/fail, win/loss, live/dead or health/illness; these are represented by indicator variables, where two values ​​are labeled as " 0" and "1". In a logical model, the log ratio (the likelihood of a logarithm), the value labeled "1" is one or more independent variables of a linear combination ("predict"); the independent variable can be a binary variable (two classes, encoded by indicator variables) or continuous variables (any actual value).

see details

一文看懂逻辑回归

本文将通俗易懂的介绍逻辑回归的基本概念、优缺点和实际应用的案例。同时会跟线性回归做一些比较,让大家能够有效的区分 2 种不同的算法。

 

什么是逻辑回归?

逻辑回归在机器学习中的位置

线性回归的位置如上图所示,它属于机器学习 – 监督学习 – 分类 – 逻辑回归。

扩展阅读:

一文看懂机器学习!(3种学习方法+7个实操步骤+15种常见算法)

一文看懂监督学习(基本概念+4步流程+9个典型算法)

逻辑回归(Logistic Regression)主要解决二分类问题,用来表示某件事情发生的可能性

什么是逻辑回归

比如:

  • 一封邮件是垃圾邮件的肯能性(是、不是)
  • 你购买一件商品的可能性(买、不买)
  • 广告被点击的可能性(点、不点)

 

逻辑回归的优缺点

优点:

  • 实现简单,广泛的应用于工业问题上;
  • 分类时计算量非常小,速度很快,存储资源低;
  • 便利的观测样本概率分数;
  • 对逻辑回归而言,多重共线性并不是问题,它可以结合L2正则化来解决该问题;
  • 计算代价不高,易于理解和实现;

缺点:

  • 当特征空间很大时,逻辑回归的性能不是很好;
  • 容易欠拟合,一般准确度不太高
  • 不能很好地处理大量多类特征或变量;
  • 只能处理两分类问题(在此基础上衍生出来的softmax可以用于多分类),且必须线性可分
  • 对于非线性特征,需要进行转换;

 

逻辑回归 VS 线性回归

线性回归和逻辑回归是 2 种经典的算法。经常被拿来做比较,下面整理了一些两者的区别:

线性回归和逻辑回归的区别

  1. 线性回归只能用于回归问题,逻辑回归虽然名字叫回归,但是更多用于分类问题(关于回归和分类的区别可以看看这篇文章《一文看懂监督学习(基本概念+4步流程+9个典型算法)》)
  2. 线性回归要求因变量是连续性数值变量,而逻辑回归要求因变量是离散的变量
  3. 线性回归要求自变量和因变量呈线性关系,而逻辑回归不要求自变量和因变量呈线性关系
  4. 线性回归可以直观的表达自变量和因变量之间的关系,逻辑回归则无法表达变量之间的关系

注:

自变量:主动操作的变量,可以看做「因变量」的原因

因变量:因为「自变量」的变化而变化,可以看做「自变量」的结果。也是我们想要预测的结果。

自变量、因变量的解释

 

美团的应用案例

美团会把逻辑回归应用到业务中解决一些实际问题。这里以预测用户对品类的购买偏好为例,该问题可以转换为预测用户在未来某个时间段是否会购买某个品类,如果把会购买标记为1,不会购买标记为0,就转换为一个二分类问题。我们用到的特征包括用户在美团的浏览,购买等历史信息,见下表:

美团应用逻辑回归的案例

其中提取的特征的时间跨度为30天,标签为2天。生成的训练数据大约在7000万量级(美团一个月有过行为的用户),我们人工把相似的小品类聚合起来,最后有18个较为典型的品类集合。如果用户在给定的时间内购买某一品类集合,就作为正例。有了训练数据后,使用Spark版的LR算法对每个品类训练一个二分类模型,迭代次数设为100次的话模型训练需要40分钟左右,平均每个模型2分钟,测试集上的AUC也大多在0.8以上。训练好的模型会保存下来,用于预测在各个品类上的购买概率。预测的结果则会用于推荐等场景。

由于不同品类之间正负例分布不同,有些品类正负例分布很不均衡,我们还尝试了不同的采样方法,最终目标是提高下单率等线上指标。经过一些参数调优,品类偏好特征为推荐和排序带来了超过1%的下单率提升。

此外,由于LR模型的简单高效,易于实现,可以为后续模型优化提供一个不错的baseline,我们在排序等服务中也使用了LR模型。

 

百度百科+维基百科

百度百科版本

逻辑回归是一种广义的线性回归分析模型,常用于数据挖掘,疾病自动诊断,经济预测等领域。例如,探讨引发疾病的危险因素,并根据危险因素预测疾病发生的概率等。

以胃癌病情分析为例,选择两组人群,一组是胃癌组,一组是非胃癌组,两组人群必定具有不同的体征与生活方式等。因此因变量就为是否胃癌,值为“是”或“否”,自变量就可以包括很多了,如年龄、性别、饮食习惯、幽门螺杆菌感染等。自变量既可以是连续的,也可以是分类的。然后通过logistic回归分析,可以得到自变量的权重,从而可以大致了解到底哪些因素是胃癌的危险因素。同时根据该权值可以根据危险因素预测一个人患癌症的可能性。

查看详情

 

维基百科版本

在统计学中,逻辑模型是一种广泛使用的统计模型,在其基本形式中,使用逻辑函数来模拟二进制 因变量 ; 存在更复杂的扩展。在回归分析中,逻辑回归是估计逻辑模型的参数; 它是二项式回归的一种形式。

在数学上,二元逻辑模型具有一个具有两个可能值的因变量,例如通过/失败,赢/输,活/死或健康/生病; 这些由指示符变量表示,其中两个值标记为“0”和“1”。在逻辑模型中,对数比值(在对数的的可能性),用于标记为“1”的值是一个线性组合的一个或多个自变量(“预测”); 自变量可以是二进制变量(两个类,由指示符变量编码)或连续变量(任何实际值)。

查看详情