A long-term short-term memory network - LSTM

What is LSTM?

Long- and short-term memory networks - often referred to as LSTM - are a special type RNNCan learn long-term dependence. Proposed by Hochreiter and Schmidhuber (1997), and improved and promoted by many people in the following work. LSTM has performed very well on a wide variety of issues and is now widely used.

LSTM is explicitly designed to avoid long-term dependencies. Remembering information for a long time is actually the default behavior of LSTM, not something you need to study hard!

All recurrent neural networks have chain repeating modules of neural networks. In a standard RNN, this repeating module has a very simple structure, such as only a single tanh layer.

In RNN, there is only a single tanh layer

LSTM also has this similar chain structure, but repeating modules have different structures. Not a single neural network layer, but four, and interacting in a very special way.

LSTM has 4 neural network layers

Don't worry about the details. We will walk through the diagrams of LSTM later. Now let's try to familiarize ourselves with the symbols we will use.

Meaning of different symbols

In the above diagram, each row contains a complete vector, from the output of one node to the input of other nodes. Pink circles represent point-by-point operations, such as vector addition; and yellow boxes represent learning neural network layers. A row merge represents a concatenation, while a branch indicates that its content is being copied, and the copy will go to a different location.

 

The core idea of ​​LSTM

The key to LSTM is the cell state, the horizontal line above the graph.

The cell state is a bit like a conveyor belt. It runs through the chain and has only a few minor linear interactions. Information can easily flow in a constant way.

The key to LSTM is the state of the cell, the horizontal line above the figure.

Easyai public number

The LSTM can add or remove information to the cell state through the fine structure of the so-called "gate."

The door can optionally pass information. They consist of an S-shaped neural network layer and point-by-point multiplication.

LSTM can add or remove information to the cell state through the fine structure of the so-called "gate"

The output value of the S-shaped network is between 0 and 1, indicating how much information passes. The 0 value means "no information passed" and the 1 value means "all information passed."

One LSTM has three such doors for maintaining and controlling cell status.

If you are interested in the detailed technical principles, you can check out this article.Illustrated Guide to LSTM's and GRU's: A step by step explanation"

 

Baidu Encyclopedia + Wikipedia

Baidu Encyclopedia version

The Long-Short Term Memory (LSTM) paper was first published in 1997. Due to its unique design structure, LSTM is suitable for processing and predicting important events with very long intervals and delays in time series.

The performance of LSTM is usually better than time recurrent neural networks and Hidden Markov Models (HMM), such as for non-segmented continuous handwriting recognition. In 2009, the artificial neural network model built with LSTM won the ICDAR handwriting recognition competition. LSTM is also commonly used for autonomous speech recognition, and 2013 used the TIMIT Natural Speech Database to achieve a record of 17.7% error rates. As a nonlinear model, LSTM can be used as a complex nonlinear unit for constructing larger deep neural networks.

see details

Wikipedia version

Long-term and short-term memory (LSTM) units are units of the recurrent neural network (RNN). An RNN composed of LSTM units is commonly referred to as an LSTM network (or simply LSTM). The public LSTM unit consists of a unit, an input gate, an output gate, and a forgotten gate. The unit remembers the values ​​in any time interval and the three gates control the flow of information into and out of the unit.

The LSTM network is well suited for classification, processing and prediction based on time series data, as there may be an lag of unknown duration between important events in the time series. LSTM was developed to deal with the problems of explosions and disappearances that may be encountered when training traditional RNNs. The relative insensitivity to gap length is an advantage of LSTM versus RNN, hidden Markov models and other sequence learning methods in many applications.

see details

 

Easyai public number

一文看懂长短期记忆网络 - LSTM

什么是 LSTM?

长短期记忆网络——通常被称为 LSTM,是一种特殊的 RNN,能够学习长期依赖性。由 Hochreiter 和 Schmidhuber(1997)提出的,并且在接下来的工作中被许多人改进和推广。LSTM 在各种各样的问题上表现非常出色,现在被广泛使用。

LSTM 被明确设计用来避免长期依赖性问题。长时间记住信息实际上是 LSTM 的默认行为,而不是需要努力学习的东西!

所有递归神经网络都具有神经网络的链式重复模块。在标准的 RNN 中,这个重复模块具有非常简单的结构,例如只有单个 tanh 层。

RNN中,只有单个tanh层

LSTM 也具有这种类似的链式结构,但重复模块具有不同的结构。不是一个单独的神经网络层,而是四个,并且以非常特殊的方式进行交互。

LSTM有4个神经网络层

不要担心细节。稍后我们将逐步浏览 LSTM 的图解。现在,让我们试着去熟悉我们将使用的符号。

不同符号的含义

在上面的图中,每行包含一个完整的向量,从一个节点的输出到其他节点的输入。粉色圆圈表示逐点运算,如向量加法;而黄色框表示学习的神经网络层。行合并表示串联,而分支表示其内容正在被复制,并且副本将转到不同的位置。

 

LSTM的核心思路

LSTM 的关键是细胞状态,即图中上方的水平线。

细胞状态有点像传送带。它贯穿整个链条,只有一些次要的线性交互作用。信息很容易以不变的方式流过。

LSTM 的关键是细胞状态,即图中上方的水平线

easyai公众号

LSTM 可以通过所谓“门”的精细结构向细胞状态添加或移除信息。

门可以选择性地以让信息通过。它们由 S 形神经网络层和逐点乘法运算组成。

LSTM 可以通过所谓“门”的精细结构向细胞状态添加或移除信息

S 形网络的输出值介于 0 和 1 之间,表示有多大比例的信息通过。0 值表示“没有信息通过”,1 值表示“所有信息通过”。

一个 LSTM 有三种这样的门用来保持和控制细胞状态。

如果对详细的技术原理感兴趣,可以看看这篇文章《Illustrated Guide to LSTM’s and GRU’s: A step by step explanation

 

百度百科+维基百科

百度百科版本

长短期记忆人工神经网络(Long-Short Term Memory,LSTM)论文首次发表于1997年。由于独特的设计结构,LSTM适合于处理和预测时间序列中间隔和延迟非常长的重要事件。

LSTM的表现通常比时间递归神经网络及隐马尔科夫模型(HMM)更好,比如用在不分段连续手写识别上。2009年,用LSTM构建的人工神经网络模型赢得过ICDAR手写识别比赛冠军。LSTM还普遍用于自主语音识别,2013年运用TIMIT自然演讲数据库达成17.7%错误率的纪录。作为非线性模型,LSTM可作为复杂的非线性单元用于构造更大型深度神经网络。

查看详情

维基百科版本

长短期记忆(LSTM)单位是递归神经网络(RNN)的单位。由LSTM单元组成的RNN通常称为LSTM网络(或仅称为LSTM)。公共LSTM单元由单元,输入门,输出门和忘记门组成。该单元记住任意时间间隔内的值,并且三个门控制进出单元的信息流。

LSTM网络非常适合基于时间序列数据进行分类,处理和预测,因为在时间序列中的重要事件之间可能存在未知持续时间的滞后。开发LSTM是为了处理在训练传统RNN时可能遇到的爆炸和消失的梯度问题。对于间隙长度的相对不敏感性是LSTM相对于RNN,隐马尔可夫模型和其他序列学习方法在许多应用中的优势。

查看详情

 

easyai公众号