Baidu Encyclopedia version

Maximum likelihood estimation is a statistical method used to find the parameters of the associated probability density function of a sample set. This method was first used by geneticists and statistician Sir Ronald Fisher in the years 1912 to 1922.

“Like” is a relatively close-to-speech translation of a similarity, and “likelihood” is “possibility” in modern Chinese. Therefore, it is more straightforward to refer to it as the “maximum likelihood estimate”.

The maximum likelihood method explicitly uses a probability model whose goal is to find a phylogenetic tree that can produce observation data with higher probability. The maximum likelihood method is a representative of a completely statistical-based phylogenetic tree reconstruction method. This method takes into account the probability of each nucleotide substitution in each set of sequence alignments.

For example, the probability of a transition occurring is approximately three times that of a spin. In a three-sequence alignment, if one of the columns is found to be a C, a T, and a G, we have reason to believe that the relationship between the sequence in which C and T are located is likely to be closer. Since the common ancestor sequence of the sequence being studied is unknown, the calculation of the probability becomes complicated; and since multiple substitutions may occur at one or more sites, and not all of the sites are independent of each other, the probability calculation The complexity is further increased. Nevertheless, objective criteria can be used to calculate the probability of each locus and calculate the probability of each possible tree representing the sequence relationship. Then, by definition, the tree with the highest sum of probabilities is most likely a phylogenetic tree that reflects the real situation.

see details

 

Wikipedia version

In statistics, Maximum Likelihood Estimation (MLE) is a method of estimating the parameters of a statistical model given the observation. Given the observations, the MLE attempts to find a parameter value that maximizes the likelihood function. The resulting estimate is called the maximum likelihood estimate, which is also abbreviated as MLE.

The maximum likelihood method is used for extensive statistical analysis. For example, suppose we are highly interested in adult female penguins, but cannot measure the height of each penguin in the population (due to cost or time constraints). Assuming a highly normal distribution with some unknown mean and variance, MLE can be used to estimate the mean and variance, while only knowing the height of some samples of the overall population. MLE will do this by taking the mean and variance as parameters and finding specific parameter values ​​that make the observed result most likely given a normal model.

From the perspective of Bayesian inference, MLE is the largest a posteriori estimate (MAPIn the special case, it assumes a uniform prior distribution of the parameters. On the other hand, from the point of view of frequency theory, MLE is one of several methods for obtaining parameter estimation without using a priori distribution. Primers are avoided by not probabilistic statements of parameters, but only their estimates are considered, and their properties are completely defined by observation and statistical models.

see details

百度百科版本

最大似然估计是一种统计方法,它用来求一个样本集的相关概率密度函数的参数。这个方法最早是遗传学家以及统计学家罗纳德·费雪爵士在1912年至1922年间开始使用的。

“似然”是对likelihood 的一种较为贴近文言文的翻译,“似然”用现代的中文来说即“可能性”。故而,若称之为“最大可能性估计”则更加通俗易懂。

最大似然法明确地使用概率模型,其目标是寻找能够以较高概率产生观察数据的系统发生树。最大似然法是一类完全基于统计的系统发生树重建方法的代表。该方法在每组序列比对中考虑了每个核苷酸替换的概率。

例如,转换出现的概率大约是颠换的三倍。在一个三条序列的比对中,如果发现其中有一列为一个C,一个T和一个G,我们有理由认为,C和T所在的序列之间的关系很有可能更接近。由于被研究序列的共同祖先序列是未知的,概率的计算变得复杂;又由于可能在一个位点或多个位点发生多次替换,并且不是所有的位点都是相互独立,概率计算的复杂度进一步加大。尽管如此,还是能用客观标准来计算每个位点的概率,计算表示序列关系的每棵可能的树的概率。然后,根据定义,概率总和最大的那棵树最有可能是反映真实情况的系统发生树。

查看详情

 

维基百科版本

在统计学中,最大似然估计(MLE)是一种在给定观察的情况下估计统计模型的参数的方法。在给定观察结果的情况下,MLE尝试找到使似然函数最大化的参数值。得到的估计称为最大似然估计,其也缩写为MLE。

最大似然法用于广泛的统计分析。例如,假设我们对成年雌性企鹅的高度感兴趣,但无法测量群体中每只企鹅的高度(由于成本或时间的限制)。假设高度正常分布有一些未知的均值和方差,可以用MLE估计均值和方差,同时只知道总体人口的某些样本的高度。MLE将通过将均值和方差作为参数并找到特定的参数值来实现这一点,这些参数值使得观察到的结果在给定正态模型的情况下最可能。

从贝叶斯推断的角度来看,MLE是最大后验估计(MAP)的特殊情况,其假设参数的均匀 先验分布。另一方面,从频率论推断的角度来看,MLE是在不使用先验分布的情况下获得参数估计的几种方法之一。通过不对参数进行概率陈述来避免使用引物,而仅考虑它们的估计,其属性完全由观察和统计模型定义。

查看详情

easyai公众号