What is the TF-IDF algorithm?

simply put,The vector space model is to express the query keyword and the document into a vector, and then use the operation between the vectors to further express the relationship between the vectors.. For example, a more common operation is to calculate the vector between the query keyword and the vector corresponding to the document.relativity. "

Briefly explain TF-IDF
Briefly explain TF-IDF

TF (Term Frequency) - "word frequency"

This means that we calculate the number of times a word in a query keyword appears in the target document. For example, if we want to query "Car Insurance," for each document, we calculate how many times the word "Car" appears in it, and how many times the word "Insurance" appears in it. This is the calculation method of TF.

The underlying assumption behind TF is that the words in the query keyword should be more important than the other words, and the importance of the document, that is, the relevance, is proportional to the number of times the word appears in the document. For example, if the word "Car" appears 5 times in document A and 20 times in document B, the TF calculation considers document B to be more relevant.

However, information retrieval workers quickly discovered that only TF could not fully describe the relevance of a document. Because of language factors, some words may appear more and more naturally in many documents, such as "The", "An", "But" in English and so on. Most of these words play the role of link statements and are indispensable for maintaining language coherence. However, if we want to search for the keyword "How to Build A Car", the "How", "To" and "A" are most likely to appear in most documents. At this time, TF cannot help us distinguish The relevance of the document is gone.

IDF (Inverse Document Frequency) - "Inverse Document Frequency"

In this case, it came into being. The idea here is actually very simple, that is, we need to “Penalize” the words that appear in too many documents.

That is to say, words that actually carry "related" information appear only relatively few, sometimes in very few documents. This information is easily calculated using the "document frequency", that is, how many documents cover the word. Obviously, if there are too many documents covering a word, the less important the word is, or the less information the word has. Therefore, we need to correct the value of TF, and the idea of ​​IDF is to use the reciprocal of DF to correct it. The application of the reciprocal just expresses the idea that the larger the DF value, the less important it is.

The TF-IDF algorithm is mainly applied to English. Chinese must first be divided into words. After the word segmentation, it must solve the multi-word meaning and the word polysemy. These two problems cannot be solved well by the simple tf-idf method. Then there is a later word embedding method that uses a vector to represent a word.

 

4 variants of TF-IDF

Common 4 variants of TF-IDF
Common 4 variants of TF-IDF

Variant 1: Avoid TF linear growth by logarithmic function

Many people have noticed that the value of TF has no upper limit in the original definition. Although we generally think that a document contains query keywords multiple times to express a certain degree of relevance, such a relationship is hard to say linear. For the example of "Car Insurance" we just mentioned, document A may contain the word "Car" 100 times, and document B may contain 200 times. Does it mean that the relevance of document B is 2 times that of document A? What? In fact, many people realize that after a certain threshold is exceeded, the TF is less discriminating.

Using Log, which is a logarithmic function, transforming TF is a technique that does not let TF grow linearly.. Specifically, people often use the value of 1+Log(TF) instead of the original TF value. Under this new calculation, assume that "Car" appears once, the new value is 1, 100 occurs, the new value is 5.6, and 200 occurs, the new value is 6.3. Obviously, such calculations maintain a balance that is both discriminating but not completely linear.

Variant 2: Standardization for long document, short document problems

The classic calculation does not consider the difference between "long document" and "short document". A document A has 3,000 words, and a document B has 250 words. Obviously, even if "Car" has 20 times in both documents, it cannot be said that both documents are equally relevant."Normalization" of TF, especially the standardization based on the maximum TF value of the document, becomes another more common technique..

Variant 3: Logarithmic function handling IDF

The third common technique, which uses a logarithmic function to transform, is to process the IDF.. Instead of using IDF directly as a "penalty factor," we can use N+1 and divide by DF as the reciprocal of a new DF, and then pass a logarithmic change on this basis. Here N is the total number of all documents. The advantage of this is that, first, the total number of documents is used for standardization, which is similar to the standardization mentioned above. Second, logarithm is used to achieve non-linear growth.

Variant 4: Standardization of query words and document vectors

Another important TF-IDF variant is to normalize the query key vector and the document vector so that these vectors are not affected by the number of valid elements in the vector, ie different documents may have different lengths. In linear algebra, you can normalize vectors to the length of a unit vector. At this time, the dot product operation is performed, which is equivalent to performing the cosine similarity calculation on the original vector. Therefore, another rule that uses this rule is to perform cosine similarity operations directly in most cases instead of dot product operations.

 

TF-IDF history

Converting both the query keyword (Query) and the document (Document) into "vectors" and trying to solve the problem of information retrieval with mathematical tools such as linear algebra can be traced back at least to the 20 century 70 era.

In 1971, Cornell University professor Gerard Salton published the article "The SMART Retrieval System-Experiments in Automatic Document Processing", which was first mentioned in the article. Convert both the query key and the document into "vectors" and assign different values ​​to the elements in those vectors. The SMART retrieval system described in this paper, especially the description of TF-IDF and its variants, has become an important reference for many subsequent industrial-grade systems.

In the year of 1972, the British computer scientist Karen Spärck Jones in "A Statistical Interpretation of Term Specificity and Its Application in Retrieval" For the first time in the article, the application of IDF is elaborated. Later, Karen discussed the combination of TF and IDF in the article "Index Term Weighting". It can be said that Karen is the first computer scientist to theoretically fully demonstrate TF-IDF, so many people in the future have attributed the invention of TF-IDF to Karen.

Gerard himself is considered to be "the father of information retrieval." He was born in Nuremberg, Germany in 1927, and received his bachelor's and master's degrees in mathematics from Brooklyn College in New York in 1950 and 1952. He received his Ph.D. in applied mathematics from Harvard University in 1958 and then joined Cornell University to form a Ph.D. computer science. In order to pay tribute to Gerard's outstanding contribution to modern information retrieval technology, the American Computer Society's Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) now awards the Gerard Salton Award every three years for Recognize researchers who have made outstanding contributions to information retrieval technology. Karen Jones won the second "Gerard Solton Award" in 1988.

Remarks: Most of the above content is excerpted from the paid course -AI technology internal reference"

 

Baidu Encyclopedia + Wikipedia

Baidu Encyclopedia version

TF-IDF is a statistical method used to assess the importance of a word for a file set or one of the files in a corpus. The importance of a word increases proportionally with the number of times it appears in the file, but it also decreases inversely with the frequency it appears in the corpus. Various forms of TF-IDF weighting are often applied by search engines as a measure or rating of the degree of correlation between a file and a user query.

In addition to TF-IDF, search engines on the Internet also use a link analysis-based rating method to determine the order in which files appear in search results.

see details

Wikipedia version

In information retrieval, tf-idf or TFIDF (term frequency-short for inverse document frequency) is a digital statistic designed to reflect the importance of words to documents in a collection or corpus. It is often used as a weighting factor for search information retrieval, text mining and user modeling. The tf-idf value increases the number of times a word appears in a document proportionally, and is offset by the number of documents in the corpus containing the word, which helps to adjust the fact that certain words appear more frequently in general. Tf-idf is one of the most popular term weighting schemes today; 83% of text-based recommendation systems in digital libraries use tf-idf.

Search engines often use variants of the tf-idf weighting scheme as a central tool for scoring and sorting the relevance of documents given a user query. Tf-idf can be successfully used for stop word filtering in various subject areas, including text summaries and categories.

see details

什么是 TF-IDF 算法?

简单来说,向量空间模型就是希望把查询关键字和文档都表达成向量,然后利用向量之间的运算来进一步表达向量间的关系。比如,一个比较常用的运算就是计算查询关键字所对应的向量和文档所对应的向量之间的 “相关度”。

简单解释TF-IDF
简单解释TF-IDF

TF (Term Frequency)—— “单词频率”

意思就是说,我们计算一个查询关键字中某一个单词在目标文档中出现的次数。举例说来,如果我们要查询 “Car Insurance”,那么对于每一个文档,我们都计算“Car” 这个单词在其中出现了多少次,“Insurance”这个单词在其中出现了多少次。这个就是 TF 的计算方法。

TF 背后的隐含的假设是,查询关键字中的单词应该相对于其他单词更加重要,而文档的重要程度,也就是相关度,与单词在文档中出现的次数成正比。比如,“Car” 这个单词在文档 A 里出现了 5 次,而在文档 B 里出现了 20 次,那么 TF 计算就认为文档 B 可能更相关。

然而,信息检索工作者很快就发现,仅有 TF 不能比较完整地描述文档的相关度。因为语言的因素,有一些单词可能会比较自然地在很多文档中反复出现,比如英语中的 “The”、“An”、“But” 等等。这些词大多起到了链接语句的作用,是保持语言连贯不可或缺的部分。然而,如果我们要搜索 “How to Build A Car” 这个关键词,其中的 “How”、“To” 以及 “A” 都极可能在绝大多数的文档中出现,这个时候 TF 就无法帮助我们区分文档的相关度了。

IDF(Inverse Document Frequency)—— “逆文档频率”

就在这样的情况下应运而生。这里面的思路其实很简单,那就是我们需要去 “惩罚”(Penalize)那些出现在太多文档中的单词。

也就是说,真正携带 “相关” 信息的单词仅仅出现在相对比较少,有时候可能是极少数的文档里。这个信息,很容易用 “文档频率” 来计算,也就是,有多少文档涵盖了这个单词。很明显,如果有太多文档都涵盖了某个单词,这个单词也就越不重要,或者说是这个单词就越没有信息量。因此,我们需要对 TF 的值进行修正,而 IDF 的想法是用 DF 的倒数来进行修正。倒数的应用正好表达了这样的思想,DF 值越大越不重要。

TF-IDF 算法主要适用于英文,中文首先要分词,分词后要解决多词一义,以及一词多义问题,这两个问题通过简单的tf-idf方法不能很好的解决。于是就有了后来的词嵌入方法,用向量来表征一个词。

 

TF-IDF 的4个变种

TF-IDF常见的4个变种
TF-IDF常见的4个变种

变种1:通过对数函数避免 TF 线性增长

很多人注意到 TF 的值在原始的定义中没有任何上限。虽然我们一般认为一个文档包含查询关键词多次相对来说表达了某种相关度,但这样的关系很难说是线性的。拿我们刚才举过的关于 “Car Insurance” 的例子来说,文档 A 可能包含 “Car” 这个词 100 次,而文档 B 可能包含 200 次,是不是说文档 B 的相关度就是文档 A 的 2 倍呢?其实,很多人意识到,超过了某个阈值之后,这个 TF 也就没那么有区分度了。

用 Log,也就是对数函数,对 TF 进行变换,就是一个不让 TF 线性增长的技巧。具体来说,人们常常用 1+Log(TF) 这个值来代替原来的 TF 取值。在这样新的计算下,假设 “Car” 出现一次,新的值是 1,出现 100 次,新的值是 5.6,而出现 200 次,新的值是 6.3。很明显,这样的计算保持了一个平衡,既有区分度,但也不至于完全线性增长。

变种2:标准化解决长文档、短文档问题

经典的计算并没有考虑 “长文档” 和“短文档”的区别。一个文档 A 有 3,000 个单词,一个文档 B 有 250 个单词,很明显,即便 “Car” 在这两个文档中都同样出现过 20 次,也不能说这两个文档都同等相关。对 TF 进行 “标准化”(Normalization),特别是根据文档的最大 TF 值进行的标准化,成了另外一个比较常用的技巧

变种3:对数函数处理 IDF

第三个常用的技巧,也是利用了对数函数进行变换的,是对 IDF 进行处理。相对于直接使用 IDF 来作为 “惩罚因素”,我们可以使用 N+1 然后除以 DF 作为一个新的 DF 的倒数,并且再在这个基础上通过一个对数变化。这里的 N 是所有文档的总数。这样做的好处就是,第一,使用了文档总数来做标准化,很类似上面提到的标准化的思路;第二,利用对数来达到非线性增长的目的。

变种4:查询词及文档向量标准化

还有一个重要的 TF-IDF 变种,则是对查询关键字向量,以及文档向量进行标准化,使得这些向量能够不受向量里有效元素多少的影响,也就是不同的文档可能有不同的长度。在线性代数里,可以把向量都标准化为一个单位向量的长度。这个时候再进行点积运算,就相当于在原来的向量上进行余弦相似度的运算。所以,另外一个角度利用这个规则就是直接在多数时候进行余弦相似度运算,以代替点积运算。

 

TF-IDF 的历史

把查询关键字(Query)和文档(Document)都转换成 “向量”,并且尝试用线性代数等数学工具来解决信息检索问题,这样的努力至少可以追溯到 20 世纪 70 年代。

1971 年,美国康奈尔大学教授杰拉德 · 索尔顿(Gerard Salton)发表了《SMART 检索系统:自动文档处理实验》(The SMART Retrieval System—Experiments in Automatic Document Processing)一文,文中首次提到了把查询关键字和文档都转换成 “向量”,并且给这些向量中的元素赋予不同的值。这篇论文中描述的 SMART 检索系统,特别是其中对 TF-IDF 及其变种的描述成了后续很多工业级系统的重要参考。

1972 年,英国的计算机科学家卡伦 · 琼斯(Karen Spärck Jones)在《从统计的观点看词的特殊性及其在文档检索中的应用》(A Statistical Interpretation of Term Specificity and Its Application in Retrieval) 一文中第一次详细地阐述了 IDF 的应用。其后卡伦又在《检索目录中的词赋值权重》(Index Term Weighting)一文中对 TF 和 IDF 的结合进行了论述。可以说,卡伦是第一位从理论上对 TF-IDF 进行完整论证的计算机科学家,因此后世也有很多人把 TF-IDF 的发明归结于卡伦。

杰拉德本人被认为是 “信息检索之父”。他 1927 年出生于德国的纽伦堡,并与 1950 年和 1952 年先后从纽约的布鲁克林学院获得数学学士和硕士学位,1958 年从哈佛大学获得应用数学博士学位,之后来到康奈尔大学参与组建计算机系。为了致敬杰拉德本人对现代信息检索技术的卓越贡献,现在,美国计算机协会 ACM(Association of Computing Machinery)每三年颁发一次“杰拉德 · 索尔顿奖”(Gerard Salton Award),用于表彰对信息检索技术有突出贡献的研究人员。卡伦 · 琼斯在 1988 年获得了第二届“杰拉德 · 索尔顿奖” 的殊荣。

备注:上面大部分内容摘抄自付费课程——《AI 技术内参

 

百度百科+维基百科

百度百科版本

TF-IDF是一种统计方法,用以评估一字词对于一个文件集或一个语料库中的其中一份文件的重要程度。字词的重要性随着它在文件中出现的次数成正比增加,但同时会随着它在语料库中出现的频率成反比下降。TF-IDF加权的各种形式常被搜索引擎应用,作为文件与用户查询之间相关程度的度量或评级。

除了TF-IDF以外,因特网上的搜索引擎还会使用基于链接分析的评级方法,以确定文件在搜寻结果中出现的顺序。

查看详情

维基百科版本

在信息检索中,tf-idf或TFIDF(术语频率 – 逆文档频率的缩写)是一种数字统计,旨在反映单词对集合或语料库中的文档的重要程度。它经常被用作搜索信息检索,文本挖掘和用户建模的加权因子。tf-idf值按比例增加一个单词出现在文档中的次数,并被包含该单词的语料库中的文档数量所抵消,这有助于调整某些单词在一般情况下更频繁出现的事实。Tf-idf是当今最受欢迎的术语加权方案之一; 数字图书馆中83%的基于文本的推荐系统使用tf-idf。

搜索引擎经常使用tf-idf加权方案的变体作为在给定用户查询的情况下对文档的相关性进行评分和排序的中心工具。tf-idf可以成功地用于各种主题领域的停用词过滤,包括文本摘要和分类。

查看详情

 

easyai公众号