Read the Turing test and Turing himself

What was the original intention of the Turing test?

The Turing test was made because Turing was thinking about a problem:Can the machine think?

And Turing believes that it is possible to create a machine that will think, so I am thinking about the second question:How to judge whether the machine can think?

Then there is the Turing test.

This process is as magical as science fiction, but Turing is such a magical person, if you are interested, you can continue to look down.

 

What is the Turing test?

Turing test diagram

The Turing test was presented in 1950 and was first published in Computational Machinery and Intelligence (Computing Machinery and Intelligence).

Let a person sit in front of the computer and talk to the other side with the keyboard. If the person can't tell whether he or she is talking to a person or a machine, then the dialogue machine passes the Turing test and has artificial intelligence.

Test standard: 25 minutes of chat time, less than 25 minutes does not pass the test

 

Turing also gave very useful suggestions for the development of artificial intelligence:

Instead of developing a computer that simulates adult thinking, it is better to try to make it simpler, perhaps just as a child's intelligent artificial intelligence system, and then let the system continue to learn - this is exactly what we use machine learning today. The core guiding ideology for solving the problem of artificial intelligence.

Who is Turing?

Allen Turing

Turing can be said to be a genius in genius, and many of his thoughts have affected so far.

 

Key figures in World War II

Churchill once wrote in his memoirs that "Turing as the hero who deciphered the Enigma cipher machine, he made the greatest contribution to the Allied victory in the victory of the Second World War."

Turing's cracking system can decipher the German Enigma system in a matter of minutes, and increase the amount of intelligence that the British Wartime Intelligence Center deciphers every month from 39000 to 84000, allowing World War II to end at least a few years earlier. After that, Turing cracked the German's highly encrypted Tunny password. With a powerful deciphering machine, the German military almost all the levels of communication encryption systems were cracked during World War II.

 

Computer founder

24's old Turing has created a vision to change the world - Turing machine, written in his paper "On the application of digital computing in decision-making problems", Turing machine can be said to be the concept of the computer is fully conceived.

His universal Turing machine concept—an abstract computer that implements multitasking by changing software—has been recognized as the predecessor of contemporary computers, from the first generation of cathode tube arrays to the various notebooks we use today. ancestor".

 

Gay

Turing fell in love with 19's young boy Murray. However, in 1952 year, Allen's same-sex partner Murray and a accomplice broke into Turing's house theft, and Turing called the police. After several rounds of police censorship, Turing acknowledged the homosexual relationship with Murray and was accused of “obvious swearing and sexual reversal”.

In the 1952 3 month trial, Allen admitted his crimes, but he made it clear that he would not regret it.

 

Long-distance running UK 20

Turing is also a talented marathon runner who once had the best Marathon 2 hour 46 points.

1946年的8月,34岁的图灵才参加了他正式训练后的第一个比赛。那是在他加入的沃尔顿田径俱乐部后参加的3英里(4.8公里)比赛,图灵以15分37秒的成绩夺得第一。这一成绩当年在英国排名第20位。对于一位34岁的跑者而言,这个成绩已经相当不俗。

 

Artificial Intelligence + Turing Test

Artificial intelligence is what Turing proposed in 1950. If he did not propose the concept of artificial intelligence, I believe that you will not see so many AI developments and applications today.

Even the Turing test has been used today.

 

Baidu Encyclopedia + Wikipedia

Baidu Encyclopedia version

The Turing test was invented by Allen Messon Turing, which means that the tester is separated from the testee (one person and one machine) by some devices (such as a keyboard). The tester asks questions at will. After multiple tests, if more than 30% of the testers can't determine whether the testee is a human or a machine, then the machine passes the test and is considered human intelligence.

The word Turing test comes from a paper by Dr. Alan Messon Turing, a pioneer in computer science and cryptography, written in 1950, "Computers and Intelligence," where 30% is Turing's machine thinking of 2000. A prediction of ability, we are far behind this prediction.

see details

Wikipedia version

In the Turing test, by developing Alan Turing in 1950, it is a machine that demonstrates the intelligence of the ability to equate to, or differ from, one person.

Turing argues that human evaluators will judge natural language dialogues between humans and machines, with the aim of producing human-like responses. The evaluator will realize that one of the two partners in the conversation is a machine and all participants will be separated from each other. The conversation will be limited to plain text channels, such as computer keyboards and screens, so the results are not dependent on the machine's ability to render words as speech. If the evaluator cannot reliably tell the human machine, the machine has passed the test.

. The test result does not depend on the ability of the machine to give the correct answer to the question, but only depends on how close the answer is to the answer given by the human. The test was introduced by Turing in his 1950 thesis "Computational Machinery and Intelligence" while working at the University of Manchester. It begins with the words: "I suggest to consider the question,'Can machines think?'" Because "thinking" is difficult to define, Turing chose to "replace another question with another closely related question." Expressed in relatively clear words. "Turing's new question is: "Is there any imaginable digital computer that performs well in imitation games?" Turing believes that this question is actually an answerable question.

In the rest of the paper, he opposed all major objections to the proposition that "machines can think." Since Turing introduced his test for the first time, it has proven to be highly influential and widely criticized and has become an important concept in the philosophy of artificial intelligence.

see details

 

Extended reading

Easyai public number
"Computing Machinery and Intelligence" in English PDF Imitation game (Douban 8.6 points)

 

Easyai public number

一文看懂图灵测试和图灵本人

图灵测试的初衷是什么?

图灵测试的提出是因为图灵在思考一个问题:机器能否思考?

并且图灵相信是可以制造出会思考的机器,于是就在想第二个问题:如何判断机器能否思考?

于是就有了图灵测试。

这个过程跟科幻小说一样神奇,不过图灵就是这么一个神奇的人,如果感兴趣可以继续往下看。

 

什么是图灵测试?

图灵测试图解

图灵测试是在1950年提出的,首次发表于《计算机械和智能》(Computing Machinery and Intelligence)。

让一个人坐在电脑前,跟另一边用键盘进行对话,如果这个人分不清跟自己对话的是一个人还是一个机器,那么这个对话机器就通过了图灵测试并具备人工智能。

测试标准:聊天时长25分钟,低于25分钟的不算通过测试

 

图灵还对人工智能的发展给出了非常有益的建议:

与其去研制模拟成人思维的计算机,不如去试着制造更简单,也许只相当于一个小孩智慧的人工智能系统,然后再让这个系统不断去学习——这种思路正是我们今天用机器学习来解决人工智能问题的核心指导思想。

图灵是谁?

艾伦图灵

图灵可以说是天才中的天才,他的很多思想影响至今。

 

二战中的关键人物

丘吉尔曾在回忆录中这样记载,“图灵作为破译了Enigma(恩尼格玛)密码机的英雄,他为盟军最终成功取得第二次世界大战的胜利做出了最大的贡献。”

图灵的破解系统几分钟便能破译德军的Enigma系统,将英国战时情报中心每月破译的情报数量从39000条提升到84000条,让二战至少提前结束了几年。之后,图灵又破解了德军高度加密的Tunny密码,凭借着强大的破译机器,德国军方在二战期间几乎所有等级的通信加密系统均被一一破解。

 

计算机奠基人

24岁的图灵,产生了一个改变世界的构想——图灵机,写于他的论文《论数字计算在决断难题中的应用》,图灵机可以说是将计算机的基本原理全部构想出来了。

他的通用图灵机理念——通过改变软件来实现多重任务执行的抽象计算机——已被肯定为当代计算机的前身,是从第一代阴极管阵列到今天我们所用的各式笔记本电脑的共同“祖先”。

 

同性恋

图灵爱上了19岁的年轻男孩穆雷,然而1952年,艾伦的同性伴侣穆雷协同一名同谋一起闯进图灵的房子盗窃,图灵为此而报警。在警方的几轮审训之后,图灵承认了与穆雷之间的同性恋关系,并被控以“明显的猥亵和性颠倒行为”罪。

在1952 年3 月的庭审上,艾伦承认了自己的罪名,但他明确表示自己不会为此感到后悔。

 

长跑英国前20

图灵还是一名天赋异禀的马拉松跑者,曾经马拉松最好成绩2小时46分。

1946年的8月,34岁的图灵才参加了他正式训练后的第一个比赛。那是在他加入的沃尔顿田径俱乐部后参加的3英里(4.8公里)比赛,图灵以15分37秒的成绩夺得第一。这一成绩当年在英国排名第20位。对于一位34岁的跑者而言,这个成绩已经相当不俗。

 

人工智能+图灵测试

人工智能就是图灵在1950年提出的,如果没有他提出人工智能这个概念,相信大家不会看到今天这么多的 AI 发展和应用。

甚至图灵测试也沿用到了今天。

 

百度百科+维基百科

百度百科版本

图灵测试(The Turing test)由艾伦·麦席森·图灵发明,指测试者与被测试者(一个人和一台机器)隔开的情况下,通过一些装置(如键盘)向被测试者随意提问。 进行多次测试后,如果有超过30%的测试者不能确定出被测试者是人还是机器,那么这台机器就通过了测试,并被认为具有人类智能。

图灵测试一词来源于计算机科学和密码学的先驱阿兰·麦席森·图灵写于1950年的一篇论文《计算机器与智能》,其中30%是图灵对2000年时的机器思考能力的一个预测,目前我们已远远落后于这个预测。

查看详情

维基百科版本

在图灵测试,通过开发阿兰·图灵于1950年,是一台机器对能力的考验表现出的智能行为等同于,或从一个人的区别。

图灵提出,人类评估者会判断人与机器之间的自然语言对话,旨在产生类似人类的反应。评估者会意识到对话中的两个伙伴中的一个是机器,并且所有参与者将彼此分开。对话将仅限于纯文本通道,例如计算机键盘和屏幕,因此结果不依赖于机器将单词呈现为语音的能力。如果评估人员无法可靠地告诉人机,则说机器已通过测试

。测试结果不依赖于机器对问题给出正确答案的能力,只取决于其答案与人类给出的答案有多接近。 该测试由图灵在其1950年的论文“ 计算机械和智能 ”中介绍,同时在曼彻斯特大学工作。它开头的话是:“我建议考虑这样一个问题,’机器可以思考吗?’ ”因为“思考”很难定义,图灵选择“用另一个与其密切相关的问题替换另一个问题”。以相对明确的词语表达。“ 图灵的新问题是:“是否有可以想象的数字电脑在仿制游戏中表现良好?” 图灵认为,这个问题实际上是可以回答的问题。

在论文的其余部分,他反对所有对“机器可以思考”这一命题的主要反对意见。自图灵首次引入他的测试以来,它已被证明具有很高的影响力和广泛的批评,并已成为人工智能哲学中的一个重要概念。

查看详情

 

扩展阅读

《Computing Machinery and Intelligence》英文版PDF模仿游戏(豆瓣8.6分)