Want to learn more NLP For related content, please visit the NLP topic, and a 59-page NLP document download is available for free.

Visit the NLP topic and download a 59-page free PDF

What is Transformer (know version)?

transformer structure diagram

As you can see above, at first glance, the Transformer architecture is a bit complicated. . . Nothing, let's talk slowly. . .

And classic seq2seq Like the model, the encoer- is also used in the Transformer model.decoder Architecture. The left half of the above picture NX When the box comes out, it represents a layer. encoderThe encoder in the paper has a structure like the 6 layer. Use the right half of the above image NX The box comes out, it represents a layer of decoder, there are also 6 layer.

Define the input sequence first Word embedding, and then add to the positional encoding, input to the encoder. The output sequence is processed the same as the input sequence and then entered into the decoder.

Finally, the output of the decoder goes through a linear layer and then to Softmax.

On top is the overall framework of the Transformer, the following introduces the encoder and decoder.

Original address

 

What is Transformer (Microsoft Research Institute stupid)?

Transformer was named by Google in 2017 YearWarning Presented in the paper by Is All You Need. Transformer is a codec model based entirely on the attention mechanism. It abandons the loop and convolution structure that was retained by other models before the introduction of the attention mechanism, and adopted the self-attention mechanism in the task performance. There has been a significant increase in parallelism and ease of training.

Before the emergence of Transformer, most neural network-based machine translation models were adopted. RNNThe model architecture, which relies on looping functions for ordered sequence operations. Although the RNN architecture has strong sequence modeling capabilities, it has problems such as slow training and low training quality.

Unlike the RNN-based approach, there is no loop structure in the Transformer model, but all words or symbols in the sequence are processed in parallel, and the relationship between all the words in the sentence is directly modeled by the self-attention mechanism, without regard to consideration. Their respective locations. Specifically, if you want to calculate the next characterization of a given word, Transformer will compare the word one by one with the other words in the sentence and derive the attention score for those words. Attention scores determine the semantic impact of other words on a given vocabulary. The attention score is then used as the average weight for all word representations, which are entered into the fully connected network to generate a new representation.

Since Transformer processes all words in parallel, and each word can be linked to other words in multiple processing steps, it trains faster than RNN models and performs better in translation tasks than RNN models. . In addition to computational performance and greater accuracy, another highlight of Transformer is the ability to visualize the parts of the network's attention, especially when dealing with or translating a given word, so you can gain insight into how information is transmitted over the network.

Later, Google researchers expanded the standard Transformer model to adopt a new, efficiency-oriented time-parallel loop structure that allows it to have general-purpose computing power and achieve better results in more tasks. result.

The improved model (Universal Transformer) replaces the Transformer set of several fixed transform functions with a set of structures consisting of a single, time-parallel loop transform function, while preserving the original parallel structure of the Transformer model. . Compared to the RNN one symbol followed by one symbol to process the sequence from left to right, Universal Transformer and Transformer can process all the symbols at the same time, but Universal Transformer will then make several parallel interpretations of each symbol according to the self-attention mechanism. Loop processing modification. The time parallel loop mechanism in Universal Transformer is not only faster than the serial loop used in RNN, but also makes the Universal Transformer more powerful than the standard feedforward Transformer.

The above content is reproduced in the public head of the Microsoft Research Institute AI headline,Original address

什么是 Transformer(知乎版本)?

Transformer 的架构
Transformer 的架构

如上图所示,咋一看,Transformer 的架构是不是有点复杂。。。没事,下面慢慢讲。。。

和经典的 seq2seq 模型一样,Transformer 模型中也采用了 encoer-decoder 架构。上图的左半边用 NX 框出来的,就代表一层 encoder,其中论文里面的 encoder 一共有6层这样的结构。上图的右半边用 NX 框出来的,则代表一层 decoder,同样也有6层。

定义输入序列首先经过 word embedding,再和 positional encoding 相加后,输入到 encoder 中。输出序列经过的处理和输入序列一样,然后输入到 decoder。

最后,decoder 的输出经过一个线性层,再接 Softmax。

于上便是 Transformer 的整体框架,下面先来介绍 encoder 和 decoder。

原文地址

 

什么是 Transformer(微软研究院笨笨)?

Transformer在2017年由Google在题为《Attention Is All You Need》的论文中提出。Transformer是一个完全基于注意力机制的编解码器模型,它抛弃了之前其它模型引入注意力机制后仍然保留的循环与卷积结构,而采用了自注意力(Self-attention)机制,在任务表现、并行能力和易于训练性方面都有大幅的提高。

在 Transformer 出现之前,基于神经网络的机器翻译模型多数都采用了 RNN的模型架构,它们依靠循环功能进行有序的序列操作。虽然 RNN 架构有较强的序列建模能力,但是存在训练速度慢,训练质量低等问题。

与基于 RNN 的方法不同,Transformer 模型中没有循环结构,而是把序列中的所有单词或者符号并行处理,同时借助自注意力机制对句子中所有单词之间的关系直接进行建模,而无需考虑各自的位置。具体而言,如果要计算给定单词的下一个表征,Transformer 会将该单词与句子中的其它单词一一对比,并得出这些单词的注意力分数。注意力分数决定其它单词对给定词汇的语义影响。之后,注意力分数用作所有单词表征的平均权重,这些表征输入全连接网络,生成新表征。

由于 Transformer 并行处理所有的词,以及每个单词都可以在多个处理步骤内与其它单词之间产生联系,它的训练速度比 RNN 模型更快,在翻译任务中的表现也比 RNN 模型更好。除了计算性能和更高的准确度,Transformer 另一个亮点是可以对网络关注的句子部分进行可视化,尤其是在处理或翻译一个给定词时,因此可以深入了解信息是如何通过网络传播的。

之后,Google的研究人员们又对标准的 Transformer 模型进行了拓展,采用了一种新型的、注重效率的时间并行循环结构,让它具有通用计算能力,并在更多任务中取得了更好的结果。

改进的模型(Universal Transformer)在保留Transformer 模型原有并行结构的基础上,把 Transformer 一组几个各异的固定的变换函数替换成了一组由单个的、时间并行的循环变换函数构成的结构。相比于 RNN一个符号接着一个符号从左至右依次处理序列,Universal Transformer 和 Transformer 能够一次同时处理所有的符号,但 Universal Transformer 接下来会根据自注意力机制对每个符号的解释做数次并行的循环处理修饰。Universal Transformer 中时间并行的循环机制不仅比 RNN 中使用的串行循环速度更快,也让 Universal Transformer 比标准的前馈 Transformer 更加强大。

上面内容转载在公众号 微软研究院AI头条,原文地址