A text to understand the Attention mechanism

Attention is being used more and more widely. especially BERT After the fire.

What is special about Attention? What is his principle and essence? What types of Attention are there? This article will explain all aspects of Attention in detail.

Want to learn more NLP For related content, please visit the NLP topic, and a 59-page NLP document download is available for free.

Visit the NLP topic and download a 59-page free PDF

 

What is the nature of Attention?

The Attention mechanism is very well matched to his name if it is understood shallowly. His core logic is "From attention to focus. "

The essence of attention

The Attention mechanism is very similar to the logic of human viewing pictures. When we look at a picture, we don't see the whole picture, but focus on the focus of the picture. Let's take a look at the picture below:

Human eyes

We will definitely see the words "Xinjiang Hotel" 4, as shown below:

Visual focus at Jin Jiang Hotel

However, I believe that no one will realize that there is a string of "telephone numbers" on the "Jinjiang Hotel", and they will not realize that "the gift comes to the big restaurant", as shown below:

Non-visual focus is easily ignored

Easyai public number

So when we look at an image, it actually looks like this:

Human effect when looking at pictures

As mentioned above, our vision system is an Attention mechanism.Focus your attention on key information to save resources and get the most effective information quickly.

Attention mechanism in the AI ​​domain

The Attention mechanism was first applied in computer vision, and then began to be applied in the NLP field. The real promotion is in the NLP field, because 2018 BERT And the effect of GPT is surprisingly good, and then popular. and Transformer And Attention these cores have begun to be focused on.

If you use a graph to express the position of Attention, it looks like this:

Attention location

Let's first let everyone have a macro concept of Attention. The Attention mechanism will be explained in more detail below. Before that, let's talk about why you should use Attention.

 

Attention 3 big advantage

The reason for introducing the Attention mechanism is mainly 3:

  1. Less parameters
  2. high speed
  3. Good effect

Attention 3 big advantage

Less parameters

Model complexity CNN,RNN In comparison, the complexity is smaller and the parameters are less. Therefore, the requirements for computing power are even smaller.

high speed

Attention solves the problem that RNN cannot be computed in parallel. Each step of the Attention mechanism calculation does not depend on the calculation results of the previous step, so it can be processed in parallel as CNN.

Good effect

Before the introduction of the Attention mechanism, there was a problem that everyone had been annoyed: long-distance information would be weakened, just like people with weak memory, and the same thing could not be remembered in the past.

Attention is the focus, even if the text is long, you can focus on the middle, without losing important information. The red expectations in the picture below are the key points that have been picked.

Attention can capture key information in long text

 

Principle of Attention

Attention often and Encoder-Decoder Together, the previous articleRead the model framework Encoder-Decoder and Seq2Seq in NLPAlso mentioned is Attention.

The following animation demonstrates the general flow of the completion of the machine translation task at the introduction of the Encoder-Decoder framework.

Attention use under the Encoder-Decoder framework

However, Attention does not have to be used under the Encoder-Decoder framework, it can be separated from the Encoder-Decoder framework.

The image below is a schematic diagram of the principle behind the Encoder-Decoder framework.

Attention schematic

Small story explanation

The above diagram looks more abstract. Here is an example to explain the principle of attention:

Small story explaining attention

There are a lot of books in the source. In order to facilitate the search, we have given the book a key. When we want to learn about the query, we can look at books related to animation, movies, and even World War II.

In order to improve efficiency, not all books will be carefully looked at. For Marvel, anime, film-related will be more careful (high weight), but World War II only need to simply scan it (low weight).

When we all read it, we had a comprehensive understanding of Marvel.

 

The 3 step decomposition of the Attention principle:

Attention principle 3 step decomposition

The first step: query and key for similarity calculation, get the weight

Step 2: Normalize the weights to get the weights that are directly available

Step 3: Weight and sum the weights and values

 

From the above modeling, we can roughly feel the idea of ​​Attention is simple,The four words "with power and sum" can be highly summarized, Avenue to Jane.To make an inappropriate analogy, humans learn a new language basically through four stages: rote memorization (learning grammar through reading and recitation to practice the sense of language) -> outline and guide (simple dialogue depends on understanding the key words in the sentence to accurately understand the core meaning ) -> Integrate (complex dialogue understands the context and the connection behind the language, and has the ability to learn by analogy) -> achieve the best (a lot of immersive practice).

This is also like the development of attention. The RNN era is a period of rote memorization. The model of attention learns the outline and evolves to transformerIt has a good integration and learning ability, and then goes to GPT, BERT, and accumulates practical experience through multi-task large-scale learning.

To answer why attention is so good? It is because it makes the model open, understands the outline, and learns to integrate.

- Ali technology

 

For more technical details, check out the article or video below:

"article"Attention mechanism in deep learning

"article"Attention, everywhere, do you really understand?

"article"Explore the Attention Attention Mechanism and Transformer in NLP

"video"Li Hongyi – transformer

"video"Li Hongyi-ELMO, BERT, GPT explanation

 

N types of attention

There are many different types of Attention: Soft Attention, Hard Attention, Static Attention, Dynamic Attention, Self Attention, and more. Let me explain to you what are the differences between these different Attentions.

Type of attention

Thanks to this articleAttention is used for some summary of NLP" has been summarized very well, the following is directly quoted:

This section classifies the form of Attention from the areas of computation, information used, structure levels, and models.

1. Calculation area

According to the calculation area of ​​Attention, it can be divided into the following types:

1)Soft Drinks Attention, this is the more common Attention method. For all keys, the weight probability is given. Each key has a corresponding weight. It is a global calculation method (also called Global Attention). This method is more rational, refer to the contents of all keys, and then weighted. But the amount of calculations may be larger.

2)Hard Attention, this method is to directly and accurately locate a key, and the rest of the keys are ignored. The probability of the key is 1, and the probability of the remaining keys is all 0. Therefore, this alignment is very demanding and requires one step in place. If it is not properly aligned, it will have a big impact. On the other hand, because it is not steerable, it is generally necessary to train with reinforcement learning. (or use gumbel softmax or the like)

3)Location Attention, this method is actually a compromise between the above two methods, calculating a window area. First use the Hard method to locate a place. You can get a window area centered on this point. In this small area, you can use Soft to calculate Attention.

 

Information used by 2.

Suppose we want to calculate Attention for a piece of text, where the original text refers to the text we want to focus on, then the information used includes internal information and external information, the internal information refers to the information of the original text, and the external information refers to the text except the original text. Additional information.

1)General Attention, this method uses external information, often used for tasks that need to construct two text relationships. The query generally contains additional information to align the original text according to the external query.

For example, in the reading comprehension task, you need to construct the association between the problem and the article. Suppose now that the baseline is, calculate a problem for the problem.vectorq, put this q and all the article word vectors together, input toLSTMModeling in . So in this model, all the word vectors of the article share the same problem vector. Now we want the word vector of each step of the article to have a different problem vector, that is, use the word vector pair of the article under this step at each step. The problem is to calculate the attention. The problem here belongs to the original text, and the article word vector belongs to the external information.

2)Location Attention, this method only uses internal information, key and value and query are only related to the input text. In self attention, key=value=query. Since there is no external information, each word in the original text can be calculated with Attention for all the words in the sentence, which is equivalent to finding the relationship inside the original text.

Still give an example of reading and understanding tasks. As mentioned in the above baseline, if you calculate a vector q for the problem, you can also use the attention here, and only use the information of the problem to do the attention without introducing the article information.

 

3. Structure level

The structure aspect is divided into single-layer attention, multi-layer attention and multi-head attention according to whether or not the hierarchical relationship is divided:

1) Single layer Attention, this is a more common practice, using a query to make an attention to a piece of original text.

2) Multi-layer Attention, generally used for models with hierarchical relations of texts. Suppose we divide a document into multiple sentences. In the first layer, we use a attention to calculate a sentence vector for each sentence (that is, a single layer). At the second level, we calculate the document vector (also a single layer of attention) for all the sentence vectors, and finally use the document vector to do the task.

3) Multi-head attention, which is the multi-head attention mentioned in Attention is All You Need. It uses multiple queries to make multiple attentions to a piece of original text. Each query pays attention to different parts of the original text, which is equivalent to repeating Multiple single layer attention:

Finally, these results are stitched together:

 

4. Model aspect

From the model point of view, Attention is generally used on CNN and LSTM, and can also directly perform pure Attention calculation.

1) CNN+Attention

CNN's convolution operation can extract important features. I think this is also the idea of ​​Attention, but CNN's convolution perception field is local, and it is necessary to enlarge the field of view by superimposing multiple layers of convolution. In addition, Max Pooling directly extracts the feature with the largest value, and also like the idea of ​​hard attention, directly select a feature.

CNN plus Attention can be added to these aspects:

a. Attention before the convolution operation, such as Attention-Based BCNN-1, the task is that the text implies that the task needs to process two pieces of text, and at the same time, the sequence vectors of the two inputs are attention, the feature vector is calculated, and then spliced ​​to the original In the vector, as the input to the convolutional layer.

b. Attention after the convolution operation, such as Attention-Based BCNN-2, the attention of the output of the convolutional layer of the two pieces of text as the input of the pooling layer.

c. Attention in the pooling layer instead of max pooling. For example, Attention pooling, first we use LSTM to learn a better sentence vector, as a query, then use CNN to learn a feature matrix as the key, then use the query to generate weights on the key, and attention to get the final sentence vector.

 

2) LSTM+Attention

LSTM internally has a Gate mechanism, in which the input gate selects which current information to input, and the forget gate chooses which past information to forget. I think this is a certain degree of Attention, and it claims to solve the long-term dependency problem. In fact, LSTM needs to capture step by step. Sequence information, the performance on long text will slowly decay as the step increases, it is difficult to retain all useful information.

LSTM usually needs to get a vector and then do the task. Common ways are:

a. Direct use of the last hidden state (may lose some of the previous information, it is difficult to express the full text)

b. Equal weighted averaging of the hidden state for all steps (different for all steps).

c. Attention mechanism, weights the hidden state of all steps, and focuses on the important hidden state information in the entire text. Performance is better than the previous two, and it is convenient to visually observe which steps are important, but be careful about the fit and increase the amount of calculation.

 

3) pure Attention

Attention is all you need. If you don't use CNN/RNN, it's a clean stream, but take a closer look, essentially a bunch of vectors to calculate the attention.

 

5. Similarity calculation method

When doing the attention, we need to calculate the score (similarity) of the query and a key. Common methods are:

1) point multiplication: the easiest way, 

2) matrix multiplication: 

3) cos similarity: 

4) tandem mode: splicing q and k, 

5) can also be used with multi-layer perceptrons: 

Easyai public number

一文看懂Attention机制

Attention 正在被越来越广泛的得到应用。尤其是 BERT 火爆了之后。

Attention 到底有什么特别之处?他的原理和本质是什么?Attention都有哪些类型?本文将详细讲解Attention的方方面面。

 

Attention 的本质是什么

Attention(注意力)机制如果浅层的理解,跟他的名字非常匹配。他的核心逻辑就是「从关注全部到关注重点」。

Attention的本质

Attention 机制很像人类看图片的逻辑,当我们看一张图片的时候,我们并没有看清图片的全部内容,而是将注意力集中在了图片的焦点上。大家看一下下面这张图:

人眼看图片

我们一定会看清「锦江饭店」4个字,如下图:

视觉焦点在锦江饭店

但是我相信没人会意识到「锦江饭店」上面还有一串「电话号码」,也不会意识到「喜运来大酒家」,如下图:

非视觉焦点容易被忽略

easyai公众号

所以,当我们看一张图片的时候,其实是这样的:

人类看图时的效果

上面所说的,我们的视觉系统就是一种 Attention机制,将有限的注意力集中在重点信息上,从而节省资源,快速获得最有效的信息。

AI 领域的 Attention 机制

Attention 机制最早是在计算机视觉里应用的,随后在 NLP 领域也开始应用了,真正发扬光大是在 NLP 领域,因为 2018 年 BERT 和 GPT 的效果出奇的好,进而走红。而 Transformer 和 Attention 这些核心开始被大家重点关注。

如果用图来表达 Attention 的位置大致是下面的样子:

Attention的位置

这里先让大家对 Attention 有一个宏观的概念,下文会对 Attention 机制做更详细的讲解。在这之前,我们先说说为什么要用 Attention。

 

Attention 的3大优点

之所以要引入 Attention 机制,主要是3个原因:

  1. 参数少
  2. 速度快
  3. 效果好

Attention的3大优点

参数少

模型复杂度跟 CNNRNN 相比,复杂度更小,参数也更少。所以对算力的要求也就更小。

速度快

Attention 解决了 RNN 不能并行计算的问题。Attention机制每一步计算不依赖于上一步的计算结果,因此可以和CNN一样并行处理。

效果好

在 Attention 机制引入之前,有一个问题大家一直很苦恼:长距离的信息会被弱化,就好像记忆能力弱的人,记不住过去的事情是一样的。

Attention 是挑重点,就算文本比较长,也能从中间抓住重点,不丢失重要的信息。下图红色的预期就是被挑出来的重点。

Attention可以在长文本中抓住重点信息

 

Attention 的原理

Attention 经常会和 EncoderDecoder 一起说,之前的文章《一文看懂 NLP 里的模型框架 Encoder-Decoder 和 Seq2Seq》 也提到了 Attention。

下面的动图演示了attention 引入 Encoder-Decoder 框架下,完成机器翻译任务的大致流程。

Attention在Encoder-Decoder框架下的使用

但是,Attention 并不一定要在 Encoder-Decoder 框架下使用的,他是可以脱离 Encoder-Decoder 框架的。

下面的图片则是脱离 Encoder-Decoder 框架后的原理图解。

attention原理图

小故事讲解

上面的图看起来比较抽象,下面用一个例子来解释 attention 的原理:

小故事讲解attention

图书管(source)里有很多书(value),为了方便查找,我们给书做了编号(key)。当我们想要了解漫威(query)的时候,我们就可以看看那些动漫、电影、甚至二战(美国队长)相关的书籍。

为了提高效率,并不是所有的书都会仔细看,针对漫威来说,动漫,电影相关的会看的仔细一些(权重高),但是二战的就只需要简单扫一下即可(权重低)。

当我们全部看完后就对漫威有一个全面的了解了。

 

Attention 原理的3步分解:

attention原理3步分解

第一步: query 和 key 进行相似度计算,得到权值

第二步:将权值进行归一化,得到直接可用的权重

第三步:将权重和 value 进行加权求和

 

从上面的建模,我们可以大致感受到 Attention 的思路简单,四个字“带权求和”就可以高度概括,大道至简。做个不太恰当的类比,人类学习一门新语言基本经历四个阶段:死记硬背(通过阅读背诵学习语法练习语感)->提纲挈领(简单对话靠听懂句子中的关键词汇准确理解核心意思)->融会贯通(复杂对话懂得上下文指代、语言背后的联系,具备了举一反三的学习能力)->登峰造极(沉浸地大量练习)。

这也如同attention的发展脉络,RNN 时代是死记硬背的时期,attention 的模型学会了提纲挈领,进化到 transformer,融汇贯通,具备优秀的表达学习能力,再到 GPT、BERT,通过多任务大规模学习积累实战经验,战斗力爆棚。

要回答为什么 attention 这么优秀?是因为它让模型开窍了,懂得了提纲挈领,学会了融会贯通。

——阿里技术

 

想要了解更多技术细节,可以看看下面的文章或者视频:

「文章」深度学习中的注意力机制

「文章」遍地开花的 Attention,你真的懂吗?

「文章」探索 NLP 中的 Attention 注意力机制及 Transformer 详解

「视频」李宏毅 – transformer

「视频」李宏毅 – ELMO、BERT、GPT 讲解

 

Attention 的 N 种类型

Attention 有很多种不同的类型:Soft Attention、Hard Attention、静态Attention、动态Attention、Self Attention 等等。下面就跟大家解释一下这些不同的 Attention 都有哪些差别。

Attention的种类

由于这篇文章《Attention用于NLP的一些小结》已经总结的很好的,下面就直接引用了:

本节从计算区域、所用信息、结构层次和模型等方面对Attention的形式进行归类。

1. 计算区域

根据Attention的计算区域,可以分成以下几种:

1)Soft Attention,这是比较常见的Attention方式,对所有key求权重概率,每个key都有一个对应的权重,是一种全局的计算方式(也可以叫Global Attention)。这种方式比较理性,参考了所有key的内容,再进行加权。但是计算量可能会比较大一些。

2)Hard Attention,这种方式是直接精准定位到某个key,其余key就都不管了,相当于这个key的概率是1,其余key的概率全部是0。因此这种对齐方式要求很高,要求一步到位,如果没有正确对齐,会带来很大的影响。另一方面,因为不可导,一般需要用强化学习的方法进行训练。(或者使用gumbel softmax之类的)

3)Local Attention,这种方式其实是以上两种方式的一个折中,对一个窗口区域进行计算。先用Hard方式定位到某个地方,以这个点为中心可以得到一个窗口区域,在这个小区域内用Soft方式来算Attention。

 

2. 所用信息

假设我们要对一段原文计算Attention,这里原文指的是我们要做attention的文本,那么所用信息包括内部信息和外部信息,内部信息指的是原文本身的信息,而外部信息指的是除原文以外的额外信息。

1)General Attention,这种方式利用到了外部信息,常用于需要构建两段文本关系的任务,query一般包含了额外信息,根据外部query对原文进行对齐。

比如在阅读理解任务中,需要构建问题和文章的关联,假设现在baseline是,对问题计算出一个问题向量q,把这个q和所有的文章词向量拼接起来,输入到LSTM中进行建模。那么在这个模型中,文章所有词向量共享同一个问题向量,现在我们想让文章每一步的词向量都有一个不同的问题向量,也就是,在每一步使用文章在该步下的词向量对问题来算attention,这里问题属于原文,文章词向量就属于外部信息。

2)Local Attention,这种方式只使用内部信息,key和value以及query只和输入原文有关,在self attention中,key=value=query。既然没有外部信息,那么在原文中的每个词可以跟该句子中的所有词进行Attention计算,相当于寻找原文内部的关系。

还是举阅读理解任务的例子,上面的baseline中提到,对问题计算出一个向量q,那么这里也可以用上attention,只用问题自身的信息去做attention,而不引入文章信息。

 

3. 结构层次

结构方面根据是否划分层次关系,分为单层attention,多层attention和多头attention:

1)单层Attention,这是比较普遍的做法,用一个query对一段原文进行一次attention。

2)多层Attention,一般用于文本具有层次关系的模型,假设我们把一个document划分成多个句子,在第一层,我们分别对每个句子使用attention计算出一个句向量(也就是单层attention);在第二层,我们对所有句向量再做attention计算出一个文档向量(也是一个单层attention),最后再用这个文档向量去做任务。

3)多头Attention,这是Attention is All You Need中提到的multi-head attention,用到了多个query对一段原文进行了多次attention,每个query都关注到原文的不同部分,相当于重复做多次单层attention:

最后再把这些结果拼接起来:

 

4. 模型方面

从模型上看,Attention一般用在CNN和LSTM上,也可以直接进行纯Attention计算。

1)CNN+Attention

CNN的卷积操作可以提取重要特征,我觉得这也算是Attention的思想,但是CNN的卷积感受视野是局部的,需要通过叠加多层卷积区去扩大视野。另外,Max Pooling直接提取数值最大的特征,也像是hard attention的思想,直接选中某个特征。

CNN上加Attention可以加在这几方面:

a. 在卷积操作前做attention,比如Attention-Based BCNN-1,这个任务是文本蕴含任务需要处理两段文本,同时对两段输入的序列向量进行attention,计算出特征向量,再拼接到原始向量中,作为卷积层的输入。

b. 在卷积操作后做attention,比如Attention-Based BCNN-2,对两段文本的卷积层的输出做attention,作为pooling层的输入。

c. 在pooling层做attention,代替max pooling。比如Attention pooling,首先我们用LSTM学到一个比较好的句向量,作为query,然后用CNN先学习到一个特征矩阵作为key,再用query对key产生权重,进行attention,得到最后的句向量。

 

2)LSTM+Attention

LSTM内部有Gate机制,其中input gate选择哪些当前信息进行输入,forget gate选择遗忘哪些过去信息,我觉得这算是一定程度的Attention了,而且号称可以解决长期依赖问题,实际上LSTM需要一步一步去捕捉序列信息,在长文本上的表现是会随着step增加而慢慢衰减,难以保留全部的有用信息。

LSTM通常需要得到一个向量,再去做任务,常用方式有:

a. 直接使用最后的hidden state(可能会损失一定的前文信息,难以表达全文)

b. 对所有step下的hidden state进行等权平均(对所有step一视同仁)。

c. Attention机制,对所有step的hidden state进行加权,把注意力集中到整段文本中比较重要的hidden state信息。性能比前面两种要好一点,而方便可视化观察哪些step是重要的,但是要小心过拟合,而且也增加了计算量。

 

3)纯Attention

Attention is all you need,没有用到CNN/RNN,乍一听也是一股清流了,但是仔细一看,本质上还是一堆向量去计算attention。

 

5. 相似度计算方式

在做attention的时候,我们需要计算query和某个key的分数(相似度),常用方法有:

1)点乘:最简单的方法, 

2)矩阵相乘: 

3)cos相似度: 

4)串联方式:把q和k拼接起来, 

5)用多层感知机也可以: 

easyai公众号