back ground

Geoffrey Hinton is one of the pioneers of deep learning and the inventor of classic algorithms for neural networks such as back propagation. He and his team have proposed a new neural network based on a structure called capsules. , And also published an inter-capsule dynamic routing algorithm for training capsule networks.

research problem

TraditionalCNNThere are deficiencies (explained in detail below). How to solve the deficiency of CNN, Hinton proposed a network that is more effective for image processing-capsule network, which combines the advantages of CNN while taking into account the relative position of CNN loss, Angle and other information, which improves the recognition effect.

Research motivation

CNN flaws

CNN focuses on detecting important features in image pixels. Consider a simple face detection task. A face consists of an oval representing the face shape, two eyes, a nose, and a mouth. Based on the principle of CNN, as long as these objects exist, there is a strong stimulus, so the spatial relationship of these objects is not so important.
As shown in the figure below, the right picture is not a human face but it has all the objects needed by the human face. Therefore, it is very likely that CNN has activated the judgment of a human face through the objects it has, thereby making the result judgment wrong.
Re-examine the working method of CNN. The high-level features are the weighted sum of low-level feature combinations. The activation of the previous layer is multiplied and added with the neuron weights of the next layer, and then activated by a non-linear activation function. In such an architecture, the positional relationship between high-level features and low-level features becomes blurred (I think there are still some that are not well used). The way CNN solves this problem is to expand the horizon of the next convolution kernel through the largest pooling layer or perhaps the convolution layer (I think the largest pooling layer will lose information or even important information anyway) .

Inverse graphics

Computer graphics is based on the hierarchical representation of geometric data to construct a visual image. Its structure takes into account the relative positions of objects. The relative position and orientation of geometric objects are represented by matrices. Specific software accepts these representations as input. And turn them into images on the screen (rendering).
Hinton was inspired by this, thinking that the brain does exactly the opposite of rendering, called inverse graphics. From the visual information received by the eye, the brain parses the hierarchical representation of its world and tries to match the learned pattern and store it in the brain. Recognition of the relationship between them, noticed that the representation of objects in the brain does not depend on perspective.
Therefore, what is now to be considered is how to model these hierarchical relationships in neural networks. In computer graphics, the relationship between three-dimensional objects in three-dimensional graphics can be represented by poses. The essence of poses is translation and rotation. Hinton proposed that preserving the hierarchical pose relationship between object parts is important to correctly classify and identify objects. The capsule network combines the relative relationships between objects and is numerically represented as a 4-dimensional pose matrix. When the model has pose information, it can be easily understood that what it sees is what it has seen before, but only changes its perspective.As shown in the figure below, the human eye can easily distinguish the Statue of Liberty, but the angle is different, but CNN is difficult to do it. The capsule network that gathers pose information can also determine the different angle of the Statue of Liberty .

Capsule network advantages

  • Because the capsule network collects pose information, it can learn a good representation effect through a small amount of data, so this is also a big improvement over CNN. For example, in order to recognize handwritten numbers, the human brain needs dozens of up to hundreds of examples, but CNN needs tens of thousands of data sets to train good results, which is obviously too violent!
  • The way of thinking is closer to the human brain, and the hierarchical relationship of internal knowledge representation in neural networks is better modeled. The intuition behind the capsule is very simple and elegant.

Cons of Capsule Network

  • The current implementation of the capsule network is much slower than other modern deep learning models (I think it is the effect of updating the coupling coefficient and the convolution layer overlay), and improving the training efficiency is a big challenge.

Research Projects

What is a capsule

An excerpt from "Transforming Autoencoders" by Hinton et al. On the concept of capsules is as follows.

Artificial neural networks should not pursue perspective invariance in "neuronal" activities (using a single scalar output to summarize the activity of repeating feature detectors in a local pool), but should use local "capsules" The input performs some fairly complex internal calculations, and then encapsulates the results of these calculations into a small vector containing informative output.Each capsule learns to identify a visual entity that is implicitly defined within a limited range of observation conditions and deformations, and outputs the probability that the entity exists within a limited range and a set of "instance parameters"The instance parameters may include precise pose, lighting conditions, and deformation information relative to the implicitly defined typical version of this visual entity. When the capsule works normally, the probability of the existence of the visual entity is locally invariant-when the entity moves on the appearance manifold within a limited range covered by the capsule, the probability does not change. Instance parameters are "isovariant"-as the observation conditions change, when the entity moves on the appearance manifold, the instance parameters will change accordingly, because the instance parameters represent the intrinsic coordinates of the entity on the appearance manifold.

In simple terms, it can be understood as:
  • Artificial neurons output a single scalar. The convolutional network uses a convolution kernel so that the results calculated by the same convolution kernel for each region of a two-dimensional matrix are stacked together to form the output of the convolution layer.
  • The maximum pooling method is used to achieve the perspective invariance. Because the maximum pool continuously searches the area of ​​the two-dimensional matrix and selects the largest number in the area, it meets the activity invariance we want (that is, we slightly adjust the input and the output is still the same) In other words, on the input image, we slightly transform the object we want to detect, and the model can still detect the object.
  • The pooling layer loses valuable information and does not take into account the relative spatial relationship between the encoded features. Therefore, we should use capsules. All important information about the state of the features in the capsule detection will be encapsulated by the capsule in a vector form ( Neurons are scalar)
The comparison of capsules and artificial neurons is as follows:

Inter-capsule dynamic routing algorithm

Low-level capsuleNeed to decide how to send its output vector to the high-level capsule. Low-level capsule changes scalar weightcij The output vector is multiplied by the weight and sent to the high-level capsule as the input of the high-level capsule. About weightscij Need to know there are:
  • Weights are non-negative scalars
  • For each lower capsuleIn terms of ownershipcij The sum is equal to 1
  • For each lower capsuleIn terms of the number of weights equal to the number of high-level capsules
  • These weights are determined by an iterative dynamic routing algorithm
The low-level capsule sends its output to the high-level capsule that expresses "agree", the algorithm pseudo-code is as follows:
Easyai public number
The weight update can be intuitively understood with the following figure.
The output of two of the high-level capsules is in purple vector v1 和 v2 Indicates that the orange vector represents input received from a low-level capsule, and the other black vectors represent input received from other low-level capsules. Purple output on the left v1 And orange input u1|1 They point in opposite directions, so they are not similar, which means that their dot product is negative and the routing coefficient will be reduced when updating c11 . Purple output on the right v2 And orange input u2|1 Pointing in the same direction, they are similar, so the routing coefficient when updating parameters c12 Will increase. Repeat this process on all high-level capsules and all their inputs to get a set of routing parameters to achieve the best match between the output from the low-level capsule and the high-level capsule output.
How many routing iterations are taken?The paper tested the values ​​in a certain range on the MNIST and CIFAR datasets, and obtained the following conclusions:
  • More iterations often lead to overfitting
  • 3 iterations are recommended in practice

Overall framework

CapsNet consists of two parts: an encoder and a decoder. The first 3 layers are the encoder and the last 3 layers are the decoder:
  • First layer: convolution layer
  • Second layer: PrimaryCaps layer
  • Third layer: DigitCaps layer
  • The fourth layer: the first fully connected layer
  • The fifth layer: the second fully connected layer
  • The sixth layer: the third fully connected layer

Encoder

The encoder accepts one28 × 28MNIST digital image as input, encode it as an instance parameter16Dimensional vector.

Convolution layer

  • Input: 28 × 28 images (monochrome)
  • Output: 20 × 20 × 256 tensor
  • 卷积核:256个步长为1的9×9×1的核
  • Activation function: ReLU
PrimaryCaps layer (32 capsules)
  • Input: 20 × 20 × 256 tensor
  • 输出:6×6×8×32张量(共有32个胶囊)
  • 卷积核:8个步长为1的9×9×256的核/胶囊
DigitCaps layer (10 capsules)
  • Enter:
    6 × 6 × 8 × 32 tensor
  • Output:
    16 × 10 matrix

Loss function

 decoder

The decoder accepts a 16-dimensional vector from the correct DigitCap and learns to encode it into a digital image (note that only the correct DigitCap vector is used during training, and the incorrect DigitCap is ignored). The decoder is used as a regularizer. It accepts the output of the correct DigitCap as input, reconstructs a 28 × 28 pixel image, and the loss function is the Euclidean distance between the reconstructed image and the input image. The decoder forces the capsule to learn features useful for reconstructing the original image. The closer the reconstructed image is to the input image, the better. An example of the reconstructed image is shown below.
The first fully connected layer
  • Input: 16 × 10 matrix
  • Output: 512 vector
Second fully connected layer
  • Input: 512 vector
  • Output: 1024 vector
Third fully connected layer
  • Input: 1024 vector
  • Output: 784 vector

参考资料 

https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s?__biz=MzI3ODkxODU3Mg==&mid=2247484099&idx=1&sn=97e209f1a9860c8d8c51e81d98fc8a0a&chksm=eb4ee600dc396f16624a33cdfc0ead905e62ae9447b49b20146020e6cbd7d71f089101512a40&scene=21#wechat_redirect
https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s?__biz=MzI3ODkxODU3Mg==&mid=2247484165&idx=1&sn=0ca679e3a5f499f8d8addb405fe3df83&chksm=eb4ee7c6dc396ed0a330fcac12690110bcaf9a8a10794dbc5e1a326c69ecbb140140f55fd6ba&scene=21#wechat_redirect
https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s?__biz=MzI3ODkxODU3Mg==&mid=2247484433&idx=1&sn=3afe4605bc2501eebbc41c6dd1af9572&chksm=eb4ee0d2dc3969c4619d6c1097d5c949c76c6c854e60d36eba4388da2c3855747818d062c90a&scene=21#wechat_redirect
https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s/6CRSen8P6zKaMGtX8IRfqw
Original link:
https://www.cnblogs.com/CZiFan/p/9803067.html
Easyai public number

背景

Geoffrey Hinton是深度学习的开创者之一,反向传播等神经网络经典算法发明人,他和他的团队提出了一种全新的神经网络,这种网络基于一种称为胶囊(capsule)的结构,并且还发表了用来训练胶囊网络的囊间动态路由算法。

研究问题

传统CNN存在着缺陷(下面会详细说明),如何解决CNN的不足,Hinton提出了一种对于图像处理更加有效的网络——胶囊网络,其综合了CNN的优点的同时,考虑了CNN缺失的相对位置、角度等其他信息,从而使得识别效果有所提升。

研究动机

CNN的缺陷

CNN着力于检测图像像素中的重要特征。考虑简单的人脸检测任务,一张脸是由代表脸型的椭圆、两只眼睛、一个鼻子和一个嘴巴组成。而基于CNN的原理,只要存在这些对象就有一个很强的刺激,因此这些对象空间关系反而没有那么重要。
如下图,右图不是人脸但都具备了人脸需要的对象,所以CNN有很大可能通过具有的对象激活了是人脸的判断,从而使得结果判断出错。
重新审视CNN的工作方式,高层特征是低层特征组合的加权和,前一层的激活与下一层神经元的权重相乘并且相加,接着通过非线性激活函数进行激活。在这么一个架构中,高层特征和低层特征之间的位置关系变得模糊(我认为还是有一些的只是没有很好的利用)。而CNN解决这个问题的方法是通过最大池化层或者或许的卷积层来扩大下续卷积核的视野(我认为最大池化层不管怎么说或多或少会丢掉信息甚至是重要信息)。

逆图形法

计算机图形学是基于几何数据内部的分层表示来构造可视图像,其结构考虑到了对象的相对位置,几何化的对象间的相对位置关系和朝向以矩阵表示,特定的软件接受这些表示作为输入并将它们转化为屏幕上的图像(渲染)。
Hinton受此启发,认为大脑所做的和渲染正好相反,称为逆图形,从眼睛接受的视觉信息中,大脑解析出其所在世界的分层表示,并尝试匹配学习到的模式和存储在大脑中的关系,从而有了辨识,注意到,大脑中的物体表示并不依赖视角。
因此,现在要考虑的是如何在神经网络中建模这些分层关系。在计算机图形学中,三维图形中的三维对象之间的关系可以用位姿表示,位姿的本质是平移和旋转。Hinton提出,保留对象部件之间的分层位姿关系对于正确分类和辨识对象来说很重要。胶囊网络结合了对象之间的相对关系,在数值上表示为4维位姿矩阵。当模型有了位姿信息之后,可以很容易地理解它看到的是以前看到的东西而只是改变了视角而已。如下图,人眼可以很容易分辨出是自由女神像,只是角度的不同,但CNN却很难做到,而把位姿信息集合进去的胶囊网络,也可以判别出是自由女神像的不同角度。

胶囊网络优点

  • 由于胶囊网络集合了位姿信息,因此其可以通过一小部分数据即学习出很好的表示效果,所以这一点也是相对于CNN的一大提升。举个例子,为了识别手写体数字,人脑需要几十个最多几百个例子,但是CNN却需要几万规模的数据集才能训练出好结果,这显然还是太暴力了!
  • 更加贴近人脑的思维方式,更好地建模神经网络中内部知识表示的分层关系,胶囊背后的直觉非常简单优雅。

胶囊网络缺点

  • 胶囊网络的当前实现比其他现代深度学习模型慢很多(我觉得是更新耦合系数以及卷积层叠加影响的),提高训练效率是一大挑战。

研究内容

胶囊是什么

摘抄Hinton等人的《Transforming Autoencoders》关于胶囊概念理解如下。

人工神经网络不应当追求“神经元”活动中的视角不变性(使用单一的标量输出来总结一个局部池中的重复特征检测器的活动),而应当使用局部的“胶囊”,这些胶囊对其输入执行一些相当复杂的内部计算,然后将这些计算的结果封装成一个包含信息丰富的输出的小向量。每个胶囊学习辨识一个有限的观察条件和变形范围内隐式定义的视觉实体,并输出实体在有限范围内存在的概率及一组“实例参数”,实例参数可能包括相对这个视觉实体的隐式定义的典型版本的精确的位姿、照明条件和变形信息。当胶囊工作正常时,视觉实体存在的概率具有局部不变性——当实体在胶囊覆盖的有限范围内的外观流形上移动时,概率不会改变。实例参数却是“等变的”——随着观察条件的变化,实体在外观流形上移动时,实例参数也会相应地变化,因为实例参数表示实体在外观流形上的内在坐标。

简单来说,可以理解成:
  • 人造神经元输出单个标量。卷积网络运用了卷积核从而使得将同个卷积核对于二维矩阵的各个区域计算出来的结果堆叠在一起形成了卷积层的输出。
  • 通过最大池化方法来实现视角不变性,因为最大池持续搜寻二维矩阵的区域,选取区域中最大的数字,所以满足了我们想要的活动不变性(即我们略微调整输入,输出仍然一样),换句话说,在输入图像上我们稍微变换一下我们想要检测的对象,模型仍然能够检测到对象
  • 池化层损失了有价值的信息,同时也没有考虑到编码特征间的相对空间关系,因此我们应该使用胶囊,所有胶囊检测中的特征的状态的重要信息,都将以向量形式被胶囊封装(神经元是标量)
胶囊和人工神经元对比如下:

囊间动态路由算法

低层胶囊需要决定如何将其输出向量发送给高层胶囊。低层胶囊改变标量权重cij ,输出向量乘以该权重后,发送给高层胶囊,作为高层胶囊的输入。关于权重cij ,需要知道有:
  • 权重均为非负标量
  • 对每个低层胶囊而言,所有权重cij 的总和等于1
  • 对每个低层胶囊而言,权重的数量等于高层胶囊的数量
  • 这些权重由迭代动态路由算法确定
低层胶囊将其输出发送给对此表示“同意”的高层胶囊,算法伪码如下:
easyai公众号
权重更新可以用如下图来直观理解。
其中两个高层胶囊的输出用紫色向量 v1 和 v2 表示,橙色向量表示接受自某个低层胶囊的输入,其他黑色向量表示接受其他低层胶囊的输入。左边的紫色输出 v1 和橙色输入 u1|1 指向相反的方向,所以它们并不相似,这意味着它们点积是负数,更新路由系数的时候将会减少 c11 。右边的紫色输出 v2 和橙色输入 u2|1 指向相同方向,它们是相似的,因此更新参数的时候路由系数 c12 会增加。在所有高层胶囊及其所有输入上重复应用该过程,得到一个路由参数集合,达到来自低层胶囊的输出和高层胶囊输出的最佳匹配。
采用多少次路由迭代?论文在MNIST和CIFAR数据集上检测了一定范围内的数值,得到以下结论:
  • 更多的迭代往往会导致过拟合
  • 实践中建议使用3次迭代

整体框架

CapsNet由两部分组成:编码器和解码器。前3层是编码器,后3层是解码器:
  • 第一层:卷积层
  • 第二层:PrimaryCaps(主胶囊)层
  • 第三层:DigitCaps(数字胶囊)层
  • 第四层:第一个全连接层
  • 第五层:第二个全连接层
  • 第六层:第三个全连接层

编码器

编码器接受一张28×28的MNIST数字图像作为输入,将它编码为实例参数构成的16维向量。

卷积层

  • 输入:28×28图像(单色)
  • 输出:20×20×256张量
  • 卷积核:256个步长为1的9×9×1的核
  • 激活函数:ReLU
PrimaryCaps层(32个胶囊)
  • 输入:20×20×256张量
  • 输出:6×6×8×32张量(共有32个胶囊)
  • 卷积核:8个步长为1的9×9×256的核/胶囊
DigitCaps层(10个胶囊)
  • 输入:
    6×6×8×32张量
  • 输出:
    16×10矩阵

损失函数

 解码器

解码器从正确的DigitCap中接受一个16维向量,并学习将其编码为数字图像(注意,训练时候只采用正确的DigitCap向量,而忽略不正确的DigitCap)。解码器用来作为正则子,它接受正确的DigitCap的输出作为输入,重建一张28×28像素的图像,损失函数为重建图像和输入图像之间的欧式距离。解码器强制胶囊学习对重建原始图像有用的特征,重建图像越接近输入图像越好,下面展示重建图像的例子。
第一个全连接层
  • 输入:16×10矩阵
  • 输出:512向量
第二个全连接层
  • 输入:512向量
  • 输出:1024向量
第三个全连接层
  • 输入:1024向量
  • 输出:784向量

参考资料 

https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s?__biz=MzI3ODkxODU3Mg==&mid=2247484099&idx=1&sn=97e209f1a9860c8d8c51e81d98fc8a0a&chksm=eb4ee600dc396f16624a33cdfc0ead905e62ae9447b49b20146020e6cbd7d71f089101512a40&scene=21#wechat_redirect
https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s?__biz=MzI3ODkxODU3Mg==&mid=2247484165&idx=1&sn=0ca679e3a5f499f8d8addb405fe3df83&chksm=eb4ee7c6dc396ed0a330fcac12690110bcaf9a8a10794dbc5e1a326c69ecbb140140f55fd6ba&scene=21#wechat_redirect
https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s?__biz=MzI3ODkxODU3Mg==&mid=2247484433&idx=1&sn=3afe4605bc2501eebbc41c6dd1af9572&chksm=eb4ee0d2dc3969c4619d6c1097d5c949c76c6c854e60d36eba4388da2c3855747818d062c90a&scene=21#wechat_redirect
https://mp.weixin.qq.com/s/6CRSen8P6zKaMGtX8IRfqw
原文链接:
https://www.cnblogs.com/CZiFan/p/9803067.html
easyai公众号