A text to understand stem extraction, word reduction

Stem extraction and morphological restoration are important links in English corpus preprocessing. Although their purpose is the same, there are still some differences between the two.

This article will introduce their concepts, similarities and differences, implementation algorithms and so on.

Want to learn more NLP For related content, please visit the NLP topic, and a 59-page NLP document download is available for free.

Visit the NLP topic and download a 59-page free PDF

 

Where is stemming and morphological restoration in NLP?

Stem extraction is a step of English corpus preprocessing (Chinese does not need), and corpus preprocessing is the first step of NLP, the following picture will let everyone know the position of stem extraction in this knowledge structure.

Where is stemming and morphological restoration in NLP?

 

What is stemming and morphological restoration?

Stemming – Stemming

Stem extraction is the process of removing the suffix of a word to get the root.

The common affixes before and after are "plural of nouns", "progressive", "past participle"...

Stem extraction

Lemmatisation – Lemmatisation

The morphological restoration is based on a dictionary that transforms the complex form of a word into the most basic form.

The morphological restoration does not simply remove the suffixes, but instead converts the words according to the dictionary. For example, "drove" will be converted to "drive".

Lexical reduction

Why do stem extraction and morphological restoration?

For example, when I search for "play basketball", Bob is playing basketball is also in line with my requirements, but play and playback are completely different things for 2 for the computer, so we need to convert playback into play.

The purpose of stemming and morphological restoration is to unify words with different looks but the same meaning, which facilitates subsequent processing and analysis.

 

4 similarities for stem extraction and morphological restoration

4 similarities for stem extraction and morphological restoration

  1. The goal is the same. The goal of stemming and morphological restoration is to simplify or merge the inflection or derivative form of the word into the basic form of stem or prototype, which is a process of unified merger of different forms of words.
  2. The results are partially crossed. Stem extraction and morphological restoration are not mutually exclusive relationships, and the result is partially intersected. Some words can achieve the same form transformation effect by using these two methods. For example, the word "dogs" is "dog" and its original shape is also "dog".
  3. The mainstream implementation method is similar. At present, the mainstream implementation methods of stemming and morphological restoration are to use the rules existing in the language or to use the dictionary mapping to extract the stems or obtain the prototypes of the words.
  4. The application areas are similar. Mainly used in information retrieval and text, natural language processing, etc., both of which are the basic steps of these applications.

 

5 differences between stem extraction and morphological restoration

5 differences between stem extraction and morphological restoration

  1. In principle, stemming is mainly based on the method of “reduction”, which converts words into stems, such as “cats” as “cat” and “effective” as “effect”. The morphological reduction mainly adopts the "transition" method, which transforms the word into its original shape, such as treating "drove" as "drive" and "driving" as "drive".
  2. In terms of complexity, the stemming method is relatively simple. The principle of the form of the word needs to return the original shape of the word. It is necessary to analyze the form of the word, not only to convert the affix, but also to identify the part of the word, to distinguish the same form but different from the original form. The difference in words. The accuracy of part-of-speech tagging also directly affects the accuracy of morphological restoration. Therefore, morphological restoration is more complicated.
  3. In terms of implementation methods, although the mainstream methods of stemming and wordform restoration are similar, the two have different emphasis on specific implementation. The implementation of stemming is mainly to use the rule changes to remove and reduce the affixes, so as to achieve the simplified effect of the words. The principle of morphological form is relatively complex, with complex morphological changes, which cannot be done well by rules alone. It relies more on the dictionary, performs mapping of inflections and prototypes, and generates valid words in the dictionary.
  4. In terms of results, stemming and morphological restoration are also partially different. The result of stemming may not be a complete, meaningful word, but only a part of the word, such as the result of "revival" stem extraction is "reviv", "ailiNerThe result of the stem extraction is "airlin". The result obtained by the morphological reduction process is a complete and complete word, which is generally a valid word in the dictionary.
  5. In the field of application, there are also different focuses. Although both are used in information retrieval and text processing, the focus is different. Stem extraction is more used in the field of information retrieval, such as Solr, Lucene, etc., for extended retrieval, and the granularity is coarse. The morphological restoration is mainly applied to text mining and natural language processing for more fine-grained and more accurate text analysis and expression.

 

3 mainstream stemming algorithm

3 mainstream stemming algorithm

Porter

This stemming algorithm is older. It started in the 20 century 80 era, and its main focus is to remove the common endings of words in order to parse them into a common form. It is not too complicated and its development has stopped.

Normally, it's a good starting basic stemmer, but it's not recommended for complex applications. Instead, it is used as a good basic stemming algorithm in research to ensure repeatability. It is also a very gentle stemming algorithm compared to other algorithms.

"Recommended" Snowball

The algorithm is also known as the Porter2 stem algorithm. It is almost universally considered to be better than Porter, and even developers who invented Porter think so. Snowball adds a lot of optimization to Porter. The difference between Snowball and Porter is about 5%.

Lancaster

Lancaster's algorithm is more radical and sometimes deals with some strange words. If at NLTK Using a stemmer, it's very easy to add your own custom rules to this algorithm.

Practice method of morphological restoration

The morphological restoration is based on a dictionary. Each language needs to be semantically analyzed and part of speech to establish a complete lexicon. At present, the English vocabulary is perfect.

The NLTK library in Python contains a vocabulary database of English words. These words are linked together based on their semantic relationship. The link depends on the meaning of the word. In particular, we can take advantage of WordNet.

import nltk
from nltk.stem import WordNetLemmatizer
lemmatizer = WordNetLemmatizer()
print(lemmatizer.lemmatize("blogs"))
#Returns blogimport nltk
from nltk.stem import WordNetLemmatizer
lemmatizer = WordNetLemmatizer()
print(lemmatizer.lemmatize("blogs"))
#Returns blog

 

Final Thoughts

Both stemming and word-reduction are unified words that have different looks but the same meaning, which facilitates subsequent processing and analysis.

They are a part of the English corpus preprocessing.

4 similarities for stem extraction and morphological restoration:

  1. Consistent goal
  2. Some results are consistent
  3. Mainstream implementation is similar
  4. Similar application fields

5 differences between stem extraction and morphological restoration:

  1. Different in principle
  2. Lexical restoration is more complicated
  3. Different implementations have different focus
  4. There is a difference in the results
  5. In the field of application, the focus is not exactly the same

The mainstream algorithm for 3 stemming:

  1. Porter
  2. Snowball
  3. Lancaster

The English word-restore can be used directly in the NLTK library in Python, which contains a vocabulary database of English words.

 

Baidu Encyclopedia + Wikipedia

Stem extraction

Baidu Encyclopedia version

In lexical and information retrieval, stemming is the process of removing the affixes to get the roots (the most common way to get the words). For the morphological root of a word, the stem does not need to be exactly the same; the related word mapping to the same stem can generally yield satisfactory results, even if the stem is not the valid root of the word. Since 1968, there have been corresponding algorithms for stem extraction in the field of computer science. Many search engines use the same stem for synonym as a query when dealing with vocabulary. This process is called merging. The stemming project generally involves a stemming algorithm or a stemmer.

see details

Wikipedia version

In language morphology and information retrieval, stemming is the process of reducing deformed (or sometimes derived) words to stems, roots or word forms-usually in written form. The stem does not have to be the same as the morphological root of the word; usually, it is sufficient for related words to map to the same stem, even if the stem itself is not a valid stem. Since the 20s, stemming algorithms have been studied in computer science. Many search engines treat words with the same stem as synonyms as a query expansion, a process called obfuscation.

see details

 

Lexical reduction

Wikipedia version

Lemmatisation (or morphological restoration) in linguistics is the process of combining distorted forms of words, so they can be analyzed as a single item, identified by the lemma or dictionary form of the word.

In computational linguistics, lemmatisation is an algorithmic process that determines the lemma of a word based on its intended meaning. Unlike stemming, lexicalization depends on correctly recognizing the expected part of speech and the meaning of the words in the sentence, as well as the larger context surrounding the sentence, such as adjacent sentences or even entire documents. Therefore, developing an effective lemmatisation algorithm is an open field of research.

see details

一文看懂词干提取、词形还原

词干提取和词形还原是英文语料预处理中的重要环节。虽然他们的目的一致,但是两者还是存在一些差异。

本文将介绍他们的概念、异同、实现算法等。

 

词干提取和词形还原在 NLP 中在什么位置?

词干提取是英文语料预处理的一个步骤(中文并不需要),而语料预处理是 NLP 的第一步,下面这张图将让大家知道词干提取在这个知识结构中的位置。

词干提取和词形还原在 NLP 中在什么位置

 

什么是词干提取和词形还原?

词干提取 – Stemming

词干提取是去除单词的前后缀得到词根的过程。

大家常见的前后词缀有「名词的复数」、「进行式」、「过去分词」…

词干提取

词形还原 – Lemmatisation

词形还原是基于词典,将单词的复杂形态转变成最基础的形态。

词形还原不是简单地将前后缀去掉,而是会根据词典将单词进行转换。比如「drove」会转换为「drive」。

词形还原

为什么要做词干提取和词形还原?

比如当我搜索「play basketball」时,Bob is playing basketball 也符合我的要求,,但是 play 和 playing 对于计算机来说是 2 种完全不同的东西,所以我们需要将 playing 转换成 play。

词干提取和词形还原的目的就是将长相不同,但是含义相同的词统一起来,这样方便后续的处理和分析。

 

词干提取和词形还原的 4 个相似点

词干提取和词形还原的 4 个相似点

  1. 目标一致。词干提取和词形还原的目标均为将词的屈折形态或派生形态简化或归并为词干(stem)或原形的基础形式,都是一种对词的不同形态的统一归并的过程。
  2. 结果部分交叉。词干提取和词形还原不是互斥关系,其结果是有部分交叉的。一部分词利用这两类方法都能达到相同的词形转换效果。如“dogs”的词干为“dog”,其原形也为“dog”。
  3. 主流实现方法类似。目前实现词干提取和词形还原的主流实现方法均是利用语言中存在的规则或利用词典映射提取词干或获得词的原形。
  4. 应用领域相似。主要应用于信息检索和文本、自然语言处理等方面,二者均是这些应用的基本步骤。

 

词干提取和词形还原的 5 个不同点

词干提取和词形还原的 5 个不同点

  1. 在原理上,词干提取主要是采用“缩减”的方法,将词转换为词干,如将“cats”处理为“cat”,将“effective”处理为“effect”。而词形还原主要采用“转变”的方法,将词转变为其原形,如将“drove”处理为“drive”,将“driving”处理为“drive”。
  2. 在复杂性上,词干提取方法相对简单,词形还原则需要返回词的原形,需要对词形进行分析,不仅要进行词缀的转化,还要进行词性识别,区分相同词形但原形不同的词的差别。词性标注的准确率也直接影响词形还原的准确率,因此,词形还原更为复杂。
  3. 在实现方法上,虽然词干提取和词形还原实现的主流方法类似,但二者在具体实现上各有侧重。词干提取的实现方法主要利用规则变化进行词缀的去除和缩减,从而达到词的简化效果。词形还原则相对较复杂,有复杂的形态变化,单纯依据规则无法很好地完成。其更依赖于词典,进行词形变化和原形的映射,生成词典中的有效词。
  4. 在结果上,词干提取和词形还原也有部分区别。词干提取的结果可能并不是完整的、具有意义的词,而只是词的一部分,如“revival”词干提取的结果为“reviv”,“ailiner”词干提取的结果为“airlin”。而经词形还原处理后获得的结果是具有一定意义的、完整的词,一般为词典中的有效词。
  5. 在应用领域上,同样各有侧重。虽然二者均被应用于信息检索和文本处理中,但侧重不同。词干提取更多被应用于信息检索领域,如Solr、Lucene等,用于扩展检索,粒度较粗。词形还原更主要被应用于文本挖掘、自然语言处理,用于更细粒度、更为准确的文本分析和表达

 

3 种主流的词干提取算法

3 种主流的词干提取算法

Porter

这种词干算法比较旧。它是从20世纪80年代开始的,其主要关注点是删除单词的共同结尾,以便将它们解析为通用形式。它不是太复杂,它的开发停止了。

通常情况下,它是一个很好的起始基本词干分析器,但并不建议将它用于复杂的应用。相反,它在研究中作为一种很好的基本词干算法,可以保证重复性。与其他算法相比,它也是一种非常温和的词干算法。

「推荐」Snowball

种算法也称为 Porter2 词干算法。它几乎被普遍认为比 Porter 更好,甚至发明 Porter 的开发者也这么认为。Snowball 在 Porter 的基础上加了很多优化。Snowball 与 Porter 相比差异约为5%。

Lancaster

Lancaster 的算法比较激进,有时候会处理成一些比较奇怪的单词。如果在 NLTK 中使用词干分析器,则可以非常轻松地将自己的自定义规则添加到此算法中。

词形还原的实践方法

词形还原是基于词典的,每种语言都需要经过语义分析、词性标注来建立完整的词库,目前英文词库是很完善的。

Python 中的 NLTK 库包含英语单词的词汇数据库。这些单词基于它们的语义关系链接在一起。链接取决于单词的含义。特别是,我们可以利用 WordNet。

import nltk
from nltk.stem import WordNetLemmatizer
lemmatizer = WordNetLemmatizer()
print(lemmatizer.lemmatize("blogs"))
#Returns blogimport nltk
from nltk.stem import WordNetLemmatizer
lemmatizer = WordNetLemmatizer()
print(lemmatizer.lemmatize("blogs"))
#Returns blog

 

总结

词干提取和词形还原都是将长相不同,但是含义相同的词统一起来,这样方便后续的处理和分析。

他们是英文语料预处理中的一个环节。

词干提取和词形还原的 4 个相似点:

  1. 目标一致
  2. 部分结果一致
  3. 主流实现方式类似
  4. 应用领域相似

词干提取和词形还原的 5 个不同点:

  1. 原理上不同
  2. 词形还原更加复杂
  3. 具体实现方式的侧重点不同
  4. 呈现结果有区别
  5. 应用领域上,侧重点不完全一致

3 种词干提取的主流算法:

  1. Porter
  2. Snowball
  3. Lancaster

英文的词形还原可以直接使用 Python 中的 NLTK 库,它包含英语单词的词汇数据库。

产品经理的 AI 知识库

 

百度百科+维基百科

词干提取

百度百科版本

在词法学和信息检索里,词干提取是去除词缀得到词根的过程(得到单词最一般的写法)。对于一个词的形态词根,词干并不需要完全相同;相关的词映射到同一个词干一般能得到满意的结果,即使该词干不是词的有效根。从1968年开始在计算机科学领域出现了词干提取的相应算法。很多搜索引擎在处理词汇时,对同义词采用相同的词干作为查询拓展,该过程叫做归并。词干提取项目一般涉及到词干提取算法或词干提取器。

查看详情

维基百科版本

在语言形态学和信息检索中,词干化是将变形(或有时衍生)词语减少到词干,词根或词形的过程 – 通常是书面形式。茎不必与该词的形态根相同; 通常,相关的单词映射到同一个词干就足够了,即使这个词干本身并不是一个有效的词根。自20世纪60年代以来,已经在计算机科学中研究了词干化的算法。许多搜索引擎将具有相同词干的单词视为同义词作为一种查询扩展,一个叫做混淆的过程。

查看详情

 

词形还原

维基百科版本

语言学中的Lemmatisation(或 词形还原)是将单词的变形形式组合在一起的过程,因此它们可以作为单个项目进行分析,由单词的引理或字典形式标识。

在计算语言学中,lemmatisation是基于其预期含义确定单词的引理的算法过程。与词干化不同,词汇化取决于正确识别句子中的预期词性和词语的含义,以及围绕该句子的较大语境,例如邻近句子甚至整个文档。因此,开发有效的lemmatisation算法是一个开放的研究领域。

查看详情